Only me


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thought it was about time for me to add a little entry since it's far too hot to do anything else. Apologies for my apauling spelling and grammar! We've had to book our own flights up to Hanoi on Sunday as our only other choice would've been to either fly back home or to a military base camp just outside of Bangkok!....thought my mum wouldn't appreciate me choosing the latter option so we did our own thing which has probably worked out for the best (and we've got a few more free nights in our posh hotel). Been exploring Singapore a bit more, had a look along Orchard Road where all the posh shops are, wondered up to little India, (and even managed to leave without Nic having a curry) and then onto the night safari yesterday eve. Nic's been very impressed with the extremely efficient public transport system, quote (in a very excited voice) ''when they say 2 minutes they mean 2 minutes, ha this is amazing,'' isn't it just. Got up today, had an enormous free breakfast (our diet will start soon) had a swim in our gorgeous pool and then had a wander around an indoor market in Bugis today that we came across..I was quite enthusiastic about it untill the smell of it wafted up my nostrils and the content of my stomach came up to my throat!..they have loads of litte stalls with these crazy dried lil fish which smell just vile...guess I'll grow to love it. We did get some yummy satay chicken curry though from a nearby hawker stand where the stench didn't reach, I think I was of great amusement to the locals with my very poor chopstick skills! I can't really think what else to write Nic's definately better at this than I am, so i'll go! Hope alls well back home xxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



29th November 2008

This is brilliant!
Wow! This is great reading what you are both up to. Glad you arrived safely even through all the disruptions. I'm going to enjoy reading what you've been doing and looking at the photos whilst I'm sitting here on a grey and wet winter's day..joy!? Look forward to reading the next installment. Take care. Missing you already XXX
1st December 2008

Glad you have found a good alternative to your plans. It gives me and my colleague at TIC great pleasure in following your trip. My colleague did something very like your trip back in the 60's ! looking forward to reading your next update. love from Gran
1st December 2008

A comment
Found you and am loving the blog. Best love mum
3rd December 2008

Hey guys, Well after reading a mammoth blog about your plans to go travelling and the beautiful views of Bristol (?!), I eventually got to the exciting stuff...I as I'm sure everyone was pretty keen to know what you'd done despite the problems in Thailand. On the Wednesday morning, so the morning after you left, I was quite comfortably drinking my tea and eating my shreddies only to hear that the Bangkok airport had been shut. Only this could happen to you. I had images of Nick crumbling under the pressure that the plans had changed!! Good to hear that you've adjusted well...Singapore's probably quite a good intermediary place to start, efficient (as Nick's loving) like Britain yet gently lowering you into the Asian ways of life!! You'll love Vietnam!! So good to hear from you, and like the others have said, I love the photos...again, not sure we'll get them throughout your travels as internet connection is probably at its fastest in a developed efficient place like Singapore!! Looking forward to the next entry! Charlie xx

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb