Kitties Galore! Neko No Niwa, Singapore's First Cat Cafe


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Boat Quay
May 19th 2014
Published: May 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Neko No NiwaNeko No NiwaNeko No Niwa

On the steps leading up to the cafe.
Cat cafés are a well-established phenomenon in Japan. Jeff and I visited one in 2010 and we fell in love with the concept. I was therefore very excited to learn that Singapore's first cat cafe has opened for business. Neko No Niwa, as this cat cafe is called, is unique in that it features only rescue cats instead of purebreds. This venture is a labor of love for Sam and Sue, the owners, and their goal is to educate Singaporeans on animal welfare issues and, in particular, to advocate for adoption rather than breeding.

I visited Neko No Niwa on a humid Monday afternoon with my high school classmate Shareen. Shareen knows Sam and Sue and she had made advance reservations. Starting out at Shareen's cafe The Muffinry, we walked about ten minutes to Boat Quay - a popular strip of restaurants and pubs in the heart of the business district - where Neko No Niwa is located. Sue greeted us warmly at reception. She told us about the house rules, gave us a booklet with the cats' profiles, and took our dessert and drink orders. We then removed our shoes, washed our hands and made our way to see the kitties.
Layout of the cafeLayout of the cafeLayout of the cafe

Food and drink are stored and prepared outside the glass door.

Not surprisingly, most of the cats were sleeping, and those who were awake seemed rather maxed out on human attention. I did feel sorry for them. The best time to visit, apparently, is in the morning when the cats are more active, and, presumably, not yet maxed out on human interaction. Fortunately for us, my backpack served as a magnet for a few of the cats who smelled my own cats on the backpack and so they came over to investigate.

How do I feel about cat cafés? Well, I love the concept, and I love the mission that this particular establishment is promoting. It is clear that these cats are loved and well cared for, but I do feel badly for some of them. Even though they were specifically hand picked for being sociable, they clearly have enough human interaction and some of them were avoiding human contact by sleeping in enclosed spaces. A rotating pool of cats wouldn't be a bad idea but I also understand that this is not always viable. Regardless, please do support Neko No Niwa by visiting if you can, as they are playing an important role in animal welfare education in Singapore.
ExteriorExteriorExterior

The cafe is upstairs, away from the hustle of Boat Quay.


Neko No Niwa is located at 54A Boat Quay, and their website is www.catcafe.com.sg. Entrance costs $12 for the first hour. Drinks and food are extra. Reservations are recommended as they restrict the number of people in the cafe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Checking out my backpackChecking out my backpack
Checking out my backpack

This was either Robbie or Skittles.
Another Kitty Checking Out My BackpackAnother Kitty Checking Out My Backpack
Another Kitty Checking Out My Backpack

I think this was Brown Monkey.
Little Miss MuffetLittle Miss Muffet
Little Miss Muffet

She is a beautiful Maine coon mix.
BalooBaloo
Baloo

Baloo is Little Miss Muffet's brother and he is the largest cat there. How I wished I could carry him (carrying is not allowed, as is touching a sleeping cat).
Big Yawn!Big Yawn!
Big Yawn!

Luna (I think) waking up from her nap.
MileyMiley
Miley

Some idiot put this on her head. She does not look happy. I removed it.
MileyMiley
Miley

After the toy was removed from her head. She's apparently the diva of this establishment.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb