tablas and romblon islands


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Romblon
November 19th 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

in my quest to find reef that has not been damaged by dynamite fishing, it has brought me to the romblon islands province. the two islands that i spent time on were tablas and romblon. in both i was greeted with so much kindness. whenever i would sit down, people would come up to me and just start talking. they were interested in why i have come to their town and where i came from. it was always very genuine. on more than one instance i was invited to homes for meals or coffee. the people alone are worth the trek to this island group.

on tablas i stayed in the towns on Looc and Santa Fe. in Looc is heard there was an excellent marine sanctuary. to get there i talked to the local tourist office and they organized a visit, which involved taking a pump boat to the reserve and docking up to a bamboo raft/lodge in the center of the reserve. when in the water i saw numerous giant clams, some as large as 3 feet wide! they told me that there is an estimated 500 clams within the reserve. there were also many smaller reef fish. they told me that some smaller sharks and rays frequent the area, but i was not lucky enough to be there at the same time to take a photo. Santa Fe was an unexpected surprise. i did not plan to stay there. i was planning on using it as a port to get to panay island. when arriving to the town, i found out that the boat to panay only leaves once a day at 10am, it was 1pm. there are no hotels there, but one concerned local took me in. her name was beth. she showed me to a home stay house, which many of the students use. she invited me over for lunch and dinner. in the morning i left to panay, but was very thankful to her.

on romblon island, i stayed in romblon town. the small island is surrounded by excellent reef and clear, calm water. the fish were still small, but were very colorful. the island is most famous for its marble production. i was everywhere, cheaper than hard wood. every building had it in its construction and it was even part of the roads. they have always had local exportation, but have just recently started shipping to europe and the rest of asia.

when there, i rented a boat to take me around the island and stopping at 4 marine sanctuaries. the coral was amazing. very different than hawaii. i was also lucky to make some good friends there. one was the governor of the whole province, who saw me and took me up to his home, where we had coffee and lunch and had a good conversation about his town. i also met a local graphic artist, JR, on my last night. his sister met me in the plaza and invited me to their home for drinks. he gave me an airbrushed shirt that he made as a present and gave me another reason to return to romblon. i hope i can come back before getting too old.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



23rd November 2006

So nice!! the vew from the sante fee room is awesome. I can just picture the wonderful feeling of being there seeing such a sight! good shot!
27th November 2006

3 foot clams!!!
Are you kidding me? Erik that is totally insane! But your underwater pictures are absolutely amazing! And seriously, the gov took you in? Already you have had so many experiences that once could only ask for in their whole life! Totally awesome bro!
6th December 2006

its great
nice picture.
7th November 2008

clear water
wow very beautiful.
22nd November 2008

wow
taga jan ako kya alam ko lugar na yan,yung view from sta.fe room noh?he he
14th December 2008

Wonderful
Wow!!! Its really wonderful!!! good job, you reminded me where I came from. Mabuhay, Romblomanon!!! Please preserve It!!!
1st January 2009

santa fe view is really beautiful. I was born there.
5th January 2009

Nice pics
wow...........what a nice pics sana naman pangalagaan ng mga taga romblon. Musta pala sa friend ko dyan kay Mr. Roberto Ruben ng tablas Romblon.
18th March 2009

Going to Visit Tablas & Santa Fe
Mabuhay, I am planing to visit Tablas and Santa Fe does anyone have any suggestions where i might find somewhere to stay near or in Santa Fe? Also anyone know what time the Boat leaves caticlan to Santa Fe? Any other interesting tips or ideas while i visit I would be grateful. Salamat Michael
7th September 2009

ur doing a great job
hi erik, i was brn in tablas,romblon presently working abroad kuwait at GMC CARS , u really enjoy our place for a nice persons living out there;full of hospitality esp. to the tourist .im so happy ive seen my place in the internet.
5th October 2009

Love the photos... :)
Hi there! Thank you for writing and appreciating my home town. I love this place and I miss it so much because I'm now living in Manila. I really wanna go back and I hope you have the same urge as I am. LOL! ;) Anyway, the photos are nice, and I know JR as well but just because we're from the same province, we're not close though. :)
5th October 2009

Love the photos... :)
Hi there! Thank you for writing and appreciating my home town. I love this place and I miss it so much because I'm now living in Manila. I really wanna go back and I hope you have the same urge as I am. LOL! ;) Anyway, the photos are nice, and I know JR as well but just because we're from the same province, we're not close though. :)
6th October 2009

wow,,, nice place
good place huh,,,,, taga jan din ako talagang maganda ang romblon
9th November 2009

Romblon looks beautiful
Now I want to go there. I went to Boracay 20 years ago when it didn't have electricity. Now the pace of things have altered the reasons that people go there. Romblon looks relaxed and just like I remember the beautiful parts of the Philippines.
18th December 2009

Tablas to Romblon
Hello Erik, thanks for the nice witness of the area. I just have a question. How do you get form Tablas to Romblon. I get flights from Manila to Tablas three times a week with Seair, but did not find out how I would be able to join Romblon from Tablas. I guess i have to hire a boat or is there a officila roro who joins daily both islands ? If yes, how much would we have to pay and how long is the time to cross between both islands. If you can help me would be great. Alexandre from Geneva - Switzerland
7th February 2010

If I remember correctly, I took a little ferry, not the plane. I think they took off 1-2 times per day depending on the weather.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 116; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb