January 2, 2008 - Calapan


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Puerto Galera » Tamaraw Falls
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

Church
My friend and I took a trek to Calapan today. The city itself was ok. It was grungy, polluted, crowded. But what made it worthwhile was the trip back. It's about an hour and a half each way by jeep. Going there sucked because I almost got car sick sitting in the back of the jeep, not being able to see anything. We got off at Tamaraw Falls to take pictures then walked along the road to Villaflor, a hamlet about 2 miles down the road. We hung out there to take a break. From there we took another jeep to Calapan. We were getting worried waiting because the jeeps that passed by had people sitting on the roof. Stefan wanted to sit up there, I told him I'll sit inside and watch his stuff.

Calapan was ok. We ate at a Jollibee. The pollution and/or the food got us both sick so we decided to head back after a couple of hours. We took at tricyle to the terminal. From there we scored front seats on a jeep, seat belts and windshield wipers be damned. My friend is cool, like me he's an aspiriring artist. We talked about movies
bahay pilipinobahay pilipinobahay pilipino

bahay pilipino
on the way back.

I wanted to go to Batangas for the day, but the ferries only ran til 3:45pm. Frustrating. Puerto Galera is a cool town, for like a couple of days. I suppose we can go to Sabang or White Beach but it's expensive after hours.

The tourists I've meet here say that the Philippines is expensive. More so than Thailand or India. I can't believe it. I came here because it's cheap. My room by the bay with a/c, TV, and private bathroom was $23. They said I can get something cheaper in Thailand.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

badladzbadladz
badladz

badladz


2nd January 2008

yo
Happy New Yr..Mike. Looks like u are having a blast. How are the local girls? Be safe and don't get into trouble.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb