Lost in Space


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » El Nido
November 22nd 2009
Published: December 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

They bite at my flesh as I lie in the water. Yellow, red, blue, purple, green, silver, black, brown and white. A symphony of colours. Stripes and dots. Little critters with sharp incisors and large oval ones with huge puffed lips. A magnificent display, a wonderland of sorts.

He swims right at my mask. A fish the size of my finger but defiant as he protects his territory. A blow fish magnifies itself to twice its normal size. To my right a purple starfish does whatever starfish do. I have been floating in the Bacuit archipelago for less than fifteen minutes but have already seen more variety of animals than exist in the Adriatic.

A whistle blows, signalling to return to the Polynesian style outrigger canoe. A short journey later we find ourselves passing through a narrow channel. A lagoon within an island. Sheer cliffs rising to all sides. Monkeys play and watch as we snorkel below. Late in the day I find myself lying on the umpteenth picture postcard beach of the outing. A coconut in one hand, shrimp flavoured Tempura snack in the other.

My only decision: do I swim now or later?



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



9th December 2009

El Nido
So many islands, so little time.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb