Bontoc (7-9 Apr 13)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mountain Province » Sagada
April 9th 2013
Published: April 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Maligcong Rice TerracesMaligcong Rice TerracesMaligcong Rice Terraces

The stone-walled variety. Oh wow...
It was another exhausting 6h ride, this time up and down the winding roads of the Cordilleras, before I arrived in Bontoc, a smallish town north of Baguio, and right at the crossroads of Banaue and Sagada, two other towns that I intend to visit. The ride up allowed me pocket glimpses of what I'd come all the way for, the famed Ifugao rice terraces.

I spent the first evening just recovering from the ride, which though shorter in duration than the Manila-Baguio leg, took much more of me, probably due to the poor roads, and condition of the rickety, old bus. Of course it was another one of those rides which was overloaded, and because I arrived late, I was initially relegated to a spot along the aisle sitting on my backpack (memories of the Nang Rong-Ubon journey in Thailand last year), before enough people alighted and seats became available. In any case, despite the discomforting combination of minor altitude and undulating terrain, the scenery and memories of my successful negotiation of similar circumstances in the highlands of Laos last year kept me going.

Apart from the Bontoc Museum, I wasn't quite sure what else I would see here initially. Of course I was in North Luzon for the rice terraces, but I thought I would save them for when I got to Banaue. LP did mention a preview of the stone-walled variety of rice terraces in a nearby village called Maligcong, and it was quite incidental that I spoke to a nun (yes!) tending to the museum shop, and got directions on which jeepney to take there, my first experience with this iconic Filipino mode of public transportation.

It was another bumpy half hour ride upslope, but boy was I glad I went! Frankly, I was quite blown away at the first sight of the terraces, which are often described as forming an "amphitheatre". These were 2000-year old rice terraces created by Ifugao tribes without the use of steel tools, and most of them are still functional to this day. I was the only tourist around, and in the midst of locals gingerly navigating their way through the elaborate system of terraces. It's hard to describe the feeling, but it was almost overwhelming. I'll let the photos do the talking themselves. As I walked along the embankments of the 2000-year old terraces, some of which were
Favourite Filipino Past-timeFavourite Filipino Past-timeFavourite Filipino Past-time

Winding down with karaoke at the Cable Cafe.
still being tended to by locals donning traditional dress, I couldn't help but feel that this had to be one of the highlights of my almost year-long Southeast Asian adventure so far, which must surely be saying something.

It's a tough act to follow, but my next stop will be Banaue, which is supposed to be rice terrace HQ. Could it possibly be even more spectacular than Maligcong?


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Baguio to BontocBaguio to Bontoc
Baguio to Bontoc

On my backpack in the aisle of an overcrowded bus. Not a happy camper.
Baguio to BontocBaguio to Bontoc
Baguio to Bontoc

I had a front row seat though, with a view to boot.
Churya Guesthouse Rules!Churya Guesthouse Rules!
Churya Guesthouse Rules!

Rule #4 -- Special Services!
Packed Jeepney to MaligcongPacked Jeepney to Maligcong
Packed Jeepney to Maligcong

I only realised about halfway through the ride there were only women and children inside. Apparently the men are supposed to give way, and they were sitting on the roof!
Maligcong Rice TerracesMaligcong Rice Terraces
Maligcong Rice Terraces

A happy camper now...
Maligcong Rice TerracesMaligcong Rice Terraces
Maligcong Rice Terraces

The terraces are still functional, as the Ifugao woman in traditional red garb demonstrates.


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb