A Zamboangan Christmas Tale


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mindanao
December 28th 2006
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of the unfortunate costs of taking a year long trip is the chance that on an important holiday or occasion, that I would most likely be by myself. Luckily, for Christmas this year, that was not the case. My good friend, Farrah, which I met in manila, was heading home for the holidays and it was near where I was and she was nice enough to invite me to spend Christmas time with her friends and family. It was one of the best gifts that I could have received.
So Christmas this year was spent in Zamboanga. It is on the southwest tip of Mindanao. I knew I would like it there just because of their town motto, which is, "Asia’s Latin city". What’s cool about their local dialect (chavacano) is that it is almost half Spanish, so I could actually talk to people not in English.
On Christmas eve Farrah picked me up from my hotel and we did the city tour. We mainly just caught up on what we've been up to the last month. Then we met up with her brother and friends. They tried really hard to make me feel that I fit in. we drove to a Spanish fort and to a monument to their version of the Unknown Soldier and to the local aviary. Later we went to Farrah's friend's house (Rona) and we celebrated Noches Buenas. It’s a large, late night feast, with the highlight being lechon. After eating we sang karaoke in their living room and then went to Rona's uncle's house for another lechon. Ate so much, but it was all so good.
For Christmas day I spent it with Rona's family. For every Christmas day they throw a big party at the local beach resort. It was less than a half hour from Zamboanga and had clean covered picnic areas next to the water. They brought so many great dishes, and of coarse another lechon. We spent the day eating and swimming and eating some more. We left when I got dark and then I met up with Farrah's family. We went out for dinner and then I just passed out after.
The day after Christmas was a little less gluttonous. We had a late start, but all went out to play badminton at the local courts. It was my first time playing and was a lot of fun. Badminton has become the new trendy sport on the Philippines the last couple of years. That’s at least what Farrah told me. Later we went out for Satti. It was great. It is bbq steak kabobs with a spicy banana catsup sauce and pressed rice balls mixed in. after I had to say good-bye to Farrah because she was leaving to go out of town with her family for a few days. It was sad, but I thanked her for everything. Later Rona, Lester, and I went to a scary movie to end the night.
The next day was my final day in Zamboanga. I went out with my new found friends to a local beach and then to Zambowood. Zambowood is a swimming pool park with a duck lagoon where you can rent canoes. We spent the rest of the day there. Later we went out to a great seafood restaurant for a farewell meal. Then to another scary movie and said our good-byes.
I will never forget this year's Christmas. It was a very unique experience for me. I was a stranger to most of the people I met only a week ago, but they made sure to make me feel like part of their family. I am very thankful.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



10th January 2007

if eatin good is good livin, your living the life
damn! just lookin at all that grub is making me hungry. i'm glad to hear you were surrounded by some good folks for the holidays, seem like genuinely nice people out there sharing the love. later bro -C
10th January 2007

NICE!
That buenas noches dinner looks gooooodddd! And dude that eye pic is wicked! wow! I'm glad you had a great Christmas and finding marvelous people to spend good times with! Looking forward to your next blog! Keep 'em coming! ;-)
12th January 2007

Sounds like a cool Christmas, I bet it's definitely one you'll always remember. Who needs material gifts when you've got great friends and are having the experience of a lifetime!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb