Year One - Philipines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 29th 2014
Published: December 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

3 Days Before the Trip3 Days Before the Trip3 Days Before the Trip

...but who is counting?
3 Days from now the kids and I are traveling to my mother land, The Philippines. Lion is 11, Michael is 10 and Zuri almost 2 years old. Exciting!!! Lion knows how to say “Maiinit sa labas” (Its hot outside) I wonder how many times is he going to say that during the course of our trip. Because we are a “foodie” family, I also taught him how to say “Gutom ako” (I’m Hungry)...After having the 2 boys I made a promised to myself that I will visit the Philippines with them when they turn 10. The goal in mind was not only to learn about the Filipino culture but also to teach them gratitude. I am not implying that the boys are ungrateful. Learning the deeper meaning of truly appreciating what you have and understanding that what you don’t have can sometimes mean “its best” not to have it. The hustle and bustle of American lifestyle tends for us to focus on keep on working for what we don’t have and failing to enjoy and appreciate what we already possess. To see that we really have is enough and what we are working overtime for and losing sleep over are just the “extras”.

May trip serves as a “slow-motion” button of life. May we learn to love deeply and live a meaningful life!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb