How to get a US Visa in Manila. It’s much easier than you think!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 2nd 2014
Published: December 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

The US visa is perhaps the most elusive and desired for most Filipinos. I’ve heard dozens of sob stories about people getting their visa denied multiple times! Visa application fee costs $160 USD and that’s not nothing. I’d hate for that to go to waste if my application gets denied because it’s non-refundable. But by God’s grace I’m now at a point in my life where being granted a tourist visa could be possible. So I did my research and found out that contrary to popular belief, being granted a US visa is much easier than what most people think! So here’s my experience.

Step 1 Payment of application fee.

Go to this website http://ustraveldocs.com/ph/ph-niv-paymentinfo.asp and print the visa application payment slip. The instruction says you must pay the fee in BPI bank within 24 hours.

The instruction said you must bring the original slip that was validated at the bank. This sent me into a panic as I am quite prone to losing things. Good thing I was able to replicate the form by photocopying the teller’s validation on a reprinted slip. It looked just like the original! However I still had doubts as the instruction said you must bring the original. Maybe they recognize the ink used in BPI or something.

Step 2 Fill out the application form (DS-160)

You will have to complete this form online before scheduling an appointment. You may complete the form here https://ceac.state.gov/genniv/

They ask for the place where you will stay in the US. I had no definite plans so I just picked a random hostel in hostel world. I picked the cheapest one that I could find in San Francisco. Warning! There are no cheap hostels in San Francisco. Or anywhere in the United States for that matter. So I took the name and address of that hostel and put it in the form. Just so I can put something there. They’d also ask for a contact person in the US who can verify your information. I have no relatives in the US. Luckily I have a friend who now lives in LA so I asked for her permission then put her name, address and contact number in the form. The form also asks for the countries that you have visited in the last five years. The rest are personal and financial information.

Step 3 Schedule an appointment

Four hours after payment you may call the hotline to schedule your interview at the embassy. I tried calling the hotlines but NONE of the numbers were reachable! So schedule your appointment online here http://ustraveldocs.com/ph/ph-niv-appointmentschedule.asp

The earliest possible schedule is 7:15 AM so that’s what I picked so I can still go to work after the interview and not have to waste my leave credits that I’d rather spend on my vacation.

Print the appointment schedule. In the appointment schedule you’d see the things that you need to bring. Those are DS 160 Confirmation page, teller validated visa application payment slip, schedule confirmation, passport including previous passports and 2x2 ID photo. That’s it. It doesn’t say that you need to bring land titles, income documents, credit card statements and whatever document that could prove that you’re rich. I thought all of those were necessary. I’ve heard too many stories of people bringing all of those documents. According to my research the consuls rarely ask to see those things. But just in case they ask I requested for a certificate of employment from the office. That certificate indicated my annual salary, position and how long I’ve been in the company. I didn’t bring bank documents and land titles.

You’re not allowed to bring a mobile phone, camera (so all these photos are not mine!), sharp objects (keys are fine), and anything with an on and off switch.

Step 4 Appointment at the US Embassy.

The instruction said arrive at least 15 minutes before your appointment. I arrived about 20 minutes before 7:15. Upon arriving there I saw several lines. By asking the security guard I found out that there are several lines. A different one for each 15 minute interval in the appointment available. Mine was 7:15, next was 7:30. So I got inside the embassy sooner that those who had been there earlier but had a later schedule.

Once they let you in you’d have to pass by the first gate where they check your passport, appointment slip and confirmation slip. After that you’d enter the compound.

Next there’s the usual security check where they’d scan your bag like in the airport. I heard you can’t bring a big bag so I only brought my man purse that’s only big enough for my wallet and the documents that I brought with me.

Then the windows where you get your number. There are two windows there. One of the attendants was super rude and unprofessional. The person next in line may not have understood her instruction to come forward then she started mumbling things like "if the person in front of you does not come to the window take their place and come forward!" She said it in the rudest way possible.

After you get your number you sit in the waiting area. You are still not in the air conditioned building. I imagine this place would be sweltering in the dry season. You can buy refreshments and snacks in this area. Strangely enough they have souvenirs like mugs, t-shirts, and towels with a logo of the US embassy. I wonder if those things are sold in US embassies around the world. They will only call out a range of number. 20 numbers per group of number that they call. My number was 2165 so when they called 2161 to 2180 I came forward and joined that group. We had to fall in line again according to our number.

Most people are dressed in casual clothes. Jeans and shirts. I was wearing office clothes since I had to go straight to work after my interview. Kids were wearing their school uniforms. To be safe, although you can wear casual clothing, at least wear your best casual clothes. Try to look like someone who can afford to travel. A few blings for the ladies perhaps. But keep it classy. No need to wear multiple gold necklaces like you’re a fortune teller.

Then we came into the actual building. First stop is screening. They look at your appointment slip, passport, and confirmation slip. Ask the purpose of your travel to see if you have the right form and paid for the right amount.

Next stop is finger print scanning. I already read while I was at the waiting area how the finger print scanning will be done but I still managed to make a fool out of myself. The lady said left four fingers. So I put my forefinger. Then she gave me the stink eye and sad “four fingers” while holding up her left four fingers.

After that you wait for your number to be flashed in the interview area. All personnel like the ones in finger print scanning and interviewers are behind a glass counter. Like when you’re buying train tickets. I thought there would be a booth where you’d come in for your interview. It wasn’t like that. It’s more like a line at the immigration in the airport. I heard several interviews. I think about half or 60% had been denied. I started to get nervous. At first I wasn’t because I know I’m good at interviews. I breeze through most of them. One of the applicants had difficulty speaking English, then the man behind the counter asked him which Filipino languages he spoke. I think the man said Tagalog because the person behind the counter started speaking to him in Tagalog. I was very impressed at how well he spoke Tagalog. His pronunciation was flawless. I ended up interviewing with that guy. My interview was very short. Less than five minutes. He only asked me these questions:

1. What is the purpose of your travel?

2. Where in the US will you go?

3. What do you do for living?

4. How much is your monthly salary?

5. Are you married?

6. How long do you plan to stay in the US?

7. Which countries have you visited before?



After his last question he said my visa is approved. My passport will be delivered within 7 days. He didn’t ask to see any of my documents. I only had my employment certificate which I didn’t even have to take out of my bag. He didn't even ask to see my old passport. I could have invented stories if I wanted to. I got out of the embassy a few minutes past 9:00. So there you have it. It is that simple.

I got so excited that I bought my ticket the same day that my visa got approved. I only paid about $860 USD for return tickets. First I'll visit my favorite city, Vancouver. Then from there I'll cross the border to Seattle. Now it's time to start planning the details of my trip. I am so excited. Thinking about doing WWOOF although I can't think of any skill I have that might be useful in a farm. Perhaps if the farmer has kids who would like to study piano or violin. Maybe I can do like "The Hangover" in Vegas. My friend in LA said she'll take me to Mexico. I really want to see Mexico but I've read quite a lot of stories about corrupt cops in Tijuana who would invent violations just to get your money. We'll see...

Advertisement



2nd December 2014

Enjoy your visit to the US of A.
21st June 2015

Hi! Great blog! :) Just a question.. Do you think it would be advisable to get a visa months before the intended travel dates? I wanna try getting a visa as early as now.. however.. I might travel by mid-next year pa. Do you think that's okay? Or, too early?
23rd June 2015

too early
they will ask you when you are going and where. how long. so better get it about four or three months before your trip i think
2nd August 2015

US visa
Hi! do you think that they have a quota of people to be approved per day? coz i am thinking that maybe if they think that they have approved enough people per day.. the rest of the applicants might get denied of visa on the later scheduled hours?
3rd August 2015

quota
no. they don't have a quota of people to be approved per day. that doesn't make sense
21st August 2015

U.S. Tourist visa
Great article! Thank you. I have a question, I'm scheduled for an interview on the first of September. on my application I have stated that my boyfriend will be sponsoring my holiday. I am single, has a good travel history. UK, Belgium, France, North America and most of Asia. This will be my first time to apply for U.S. visa. I've read in some other posts about applications getting denied because of having a boyfriend/fiancée from there. What are the chances of having the visa granted or denied?
24th August 2015

hi Kay
I've read that about 30% of applicants get rejected. If you have good travel history, a steady job, and travel plans. I don't see why you can get denied. Good luck!
2nd November 2015

US Visa
It's going to be my first time to visit any country. I still have a fear to get denied since it's going to be my first time to go out of the country. Thanks!!
2nd November 2015

Thanks Dana!
Good luck on your application!
25th November 2015

Documents?
I just want to ask what are documents you submitted to the Embassy? Were you single when you went to US? Or did they ask you with CENOMAR or certificate of no marriage?
9th December 2015

Documents
Like U daid in my blog they didn't ask for anything other than my passport. I am single.
9th December 2015

Documents
Like U daid in my blog they didn't ask for anything other than my passport. I am single.
2nd February 2016

Helped me on my Visa Application
Hi! I came upon this blog and thought that it's very informative. I tried reading some stories just before I applied to know what I'll be expecting. Luckily w/ all of these info's available, we were able to ace our interview and got approved (though the consul didn't really tell us that it's approved but she said wait for our passport and called on to the next person? Haha. Thanks! Now the question is, like you I am very excited and I want to book our ticket right away. Would it be safe to do it now? I still don't have my passport w/ me. I tracked and it say's that the passport is still in the embassy, but it's for delivery. I guess I'm too scared to risk that maybe we didn't get approve pala? Haha! Any advice?
10th February 2016

Congrats!
Glad to be og help. Yup it's safe to buy your ticket now. As long as you know your passport number and its expiry date. Enjoy your trip! The States is so much fun!
15th February 2016

Interview questions
Hi! I like how this article was being done. Simple and direct to the point. Would you know if they ask the same set of questions based on your experience at the Embassy? Like based on what you saw and heard. Thanks!
20th February 2016

interview questions
it varies. follow up questions will depend on your answers. questions will vary based on your job, whether you have relatives in the States, your plans there, etc.
20th February 2016

Waiting Time
Hi Great info on your article! :) Just wanted to ask, from the time you scheduled an appointment, when was the earliest date available for the interview? I know the visa fee is something I am very worried about. Its Feb 20 2016 right now, and have not paid the fee yet, would it be possible to have it scheduled by Feb 25 or earlier? Because if granted the visa, I will need to receive it by March 4 or 5. Thanks so much for your help.
20th February 2016

waiting time
you have to pay first so you can schedule the interview. the availability of schedule will depend on the number of people requesting. sometimes the schedule will be more than a month away. sometimes just days. it varies
11th March 2016

Hi! You mentioned on your blog that you're going first to Vancouver? That's in Canada? have you got a canadian visa prior to applying US visa? My family is planning to go on a cruise from LA-Seattle with stopovers in Victoria, British Columbia and Vancouver. Do you think I can apply for a Canadian visa while in US? I am lacking time to do it here in Manila. Our cruise date target is very soon..
13th March 2016

Canada visa
No I applied for my Canada visa after I got my US visa. Because I wouldn't have gone to Canada if my US visa was not approved. You can't apply for Canada visa in the States. You have to do it here. Have fun on your trip! I love Victoria island!
19th March 2016

After the approval
Hi! Just a curious question, when you arrived at your port of entry, did they ask you same questions at the interview? I mean you said that you are going to Los Angeles and then all of a sudden you changed your plans after the interview, will they take it against you?
20th March 2016

after the approval
I don't think so. But they do ask the same questions. The questions are pretty standard in most countries. What you do for living, how long you plan to stay, where will you go, etc.
7th April 2016

manila to canada
hi im a filipina..can you fly straight to Canada from Manila if you acquired a US visa thank you!
7th April 2016

manila to canada
No
8th April 2016

US- Canada
what about US to CAnada. Ive read an article when you travel to US you can go to canada or mexico for 30. Days?
10th April 2016

US - Canada
still no. You need to apply for Canada visa if you have a Philippine passport. You can't apply for Canada visa outside the Philippines if you are a resident of the Philippines. You can go to Mexico with a US visa, but not Canada.
29th April 2016

issuance of visa
If ever you will be granted a visa how many years they will give you?
1st May 2016

issuance of visa
it varies. some get single entry. other get 5 years or 10 years multiple
3rd May 2016

Delivery
Hi! Finally got visa in a matter of 3 mins interview and only 3 questions without asking any documents from me. Just so happy and thankful. Now question .. When can I get my passport? Say i was interviewed Friday consul said 5 days .. Is Sat and Sunday Included and what if I faid to get it from the courier? thank you!
3rd May 2016

delivery
Congrats buddy! I don't know if they deliver on weekends. Enjoy your trip!
11th May 2016

Canadian visa
hi i am a holder of US multiple visa would you think it's easier for me to get Canadian visa? Where do I file application or submit requirements for Canadian visa? Thanks
12th May 2016

Canadian visa
It would definitely help if you have visas for OECD countries like the US. Just go to their website to apply for the visa www.cic.gc.ca
11th June 2016

First Fly
Hi. It's going to be my first to go out in any country , Planning to visit my boy friend and meet his family on holiday . Employee, 21 of age, he is the one who will be sponsoring my trip . Do you think there's a chances having my visa granted or denied . Thanks :)
14th June 2016

first fly
to be honest I don't know. All I know is you have to give them reason to believe that you will go back to the Philippines. Like a career and strong family ties in the Philippines
24th July 2016

US Visa
Hi. Great blog! Its really helpful. I just want to ask my mom and i are planning to visit my aunt in Chicago on December and our interview will be on September 3. My mom already visited HK and SG but I dont have a travel history like her do you think i still have a chance to get approve? Thanks :)
25th July 2016

Camilla
Yes I know people who do not have travel history and yet were approved
9th September 2016

inquiries
hi sir, did you tell the consul the specific amount of you're salary? how much do you think they accept monthly salary. I heard they wont allow tourist with minimum wager, it should be 100k. THanks!
19th September 2016

salary
yes i did because they asked. I don't know how much income is acceptable for them but I reckon it would be difficult to get approved if you are a minimum wage earner because traveling in the States is quite expensive. But I do know a few nurses who got approved and we all know that nurses in the Philippines earn very little
19th September 2016

I see. do you think sir a 20k monthly is acceptable? anyway my sister will cover the ticket mine is for pocket money and the savings that I have on the bank 100+ would that be ok? my schedule will be on 26
19th September 2016

salary
i know people who have been approved who make less money. the nurses I was telling you about. but there are other factors to consider. from what i've been reading it would be difficult to be approved if you are single. in your 20's to early 30's, and if you have relatives in the States. That's because those things make your more likely to stay in the States illegally to find work. just answer as honestly as possible. it would help also if you have good travel history
20th September 2016

salary
i really don't know. as I've said i know people who have been approved who made less than 20K. Although their reason was they were attending a conference and they applied as a group. There are other factors. I've read that it would be difficult for single people to get approved, especially if you have relatives in the States because that would make you more likely to stay there illegally. So you might have to show them more money if you have those risk factors
8th January 2017

1st Time application
Hi! I work online as a telemarketer for an American company for over a year now and sometimes im a part time english teacher I don't work in a physical company. Will that lower down my chance of being approved?
9th January 2017

1st Time application
Truth be told, yes I think it will affect your chances because that doesn't sound like a stable job. Good luck!
10th May 2017

Canada Visa
Got a US multiple now trying my luck with Canada .. is there a big chance if you are a US visa holder? You think it's more dificult to get Canadian visa? By the way got existing Japan and Korean visa and previously Schengen... you think theyre advantage? And how do you know if you are denied or approved? Thank you!
22nd May 2017

Canada Visa
Yes that's definitely an advantage! You'll only know when you get your passport back as I can remember.
22nd May 2017

Canada
Finally got my Canada ?? visa! Just like to find out if you can go anywhere in Canada even you declared that you will be going to a certain place. Say ij my application i wrote an itenerary that im going to Calgary and now when i got my visa decided to go to Edmonton instead.. fo you think when i arrive edmonton intl airport immigtation will not question me about it.. by the way for your refernce its a multiple visit visa. Thank you
22nd May 2017

Canada
Yes you can go anywhere! Congrats!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb