A Journey: Philippines, family, and life


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
November 12th 2009
Published: November 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It took a while for me write about my trip made to the Philippines last August for a very sad reason. We travel for a lot of different reasons, and for whatever it is, it will be always be an enriching experience.

Living abroad for most of my adult life, an untimely call from my home country always sends anxiety attacks. But on the early morning of August 10th, the message was sent by my sister in an incoherent and chappy manner through my Yahoo Messenger. It says "Kuya (Tagalog for older brother), si Mama (our grandmother), please call". It only took 5 words to convey the clear message and send an infinite amount of sadness in my being. I didn't have to call my sister back for I already know. It just confirmed the dreadful dreams I've been having for the past week. My grandmother, whom we lovingly called Mama, passed away. My grandmother whom I cherished with my heart and soul is gone.

What made me more distraught, was that fact that I am scheduled to return home for a diving trip with my Japanese friends in 6 days. I ask till now, why the forces of nature can be so cruel and can't buy me 6 days to at least hug my Mama for one last time. Well, things happen for a reason and for what reason is it, I think its still early for me find the proper logic.
I rebook my flight so I can come home earlier. I canceled my son's flight who was supposed to accompany me on my diving trip, since he loved the water as much as daddy does. I want to focus on saying goodbye to my Mama, and cant be bother by a toddler running around like crazy. Flying home to a deceased loved one is the most excruciating trip. But somehow I made the 4-hour flight from Osaka to Manila. I arrived on a Thursday evening and went straight to the wake and didn't leave my Mama for the next 2-days.

We laid her to rest on a Saturday. After long tearful goodbyes to a well-loved grandma, we all headed home. Being home alone with my 2 sisters and mother, the reality of our loss sinks in. The sadness and silence is deafening. Not much words were spoken but we all slept in one room. Put to sleep by listening to each others breathing.

The next day my friends from Japan will be arriving so I told my mom and sisters to come with us on the trip. They obliged, as I'm sure it will be unbearable to stay home anyway. My mother and my sister, Arianne can only hang out with us along for the Tagaytay leg of our trip , since they used up all their available office leaves. However, my sister Armie seemed to always have all the time in the world, came with us for the whole duration of the trip.

TAGAYTAY
My friends Risa and Sayaka came at around 2PM Sunday afternoon. They were starved so we brought them first to have a quick bite at Jollibee. Filipinos always took pride with our "happy bee" burger joint. Since most of us loved everything that is American, its almost surreal that Mc Donald's is only the # 2 fast food joint in the country. Am I so proud and happy when my guests raved about Jollibee after we ate there.

We went straight to Taal Vista hotel which offers a beautiful and unobstructed view of the Taal Volcano and Lake, for a fee of course. Then we check in our luggage at the Kimberley Hotel. This hotel is such a great find. Its my second time to stay in this very nice hotel, and it made me wonder why guests are so few. Im sure once tourists discover this gem, then I'll be complaining what are they doing in my once isolated sanctuary. We ate a hefty dinner @ Jospehine's and then call it a day.

The next day, we went shopping for souvenirs for my Mom and sisters work colleagues. We passed-by the chapel of our Lady of Manaog, which Im sure feels like a special treat for my mom. As she was a sort of a local Church-tourist. Filipino Catholic mothers at a certain age is in danger of becoming a Church-tourist or a Church social animal. Traveling to see all our nation's churches or revolving their social lives within Church sponsored activities. My friends were so happy that we went to fruit stalls to sample tropical fruit they've never tasted before. They love our sweet lanzones and rambutan.

Tagaytay is famous for its scenic view or Taal and serene retreat houses and spas. Thus, Tagaytay's quiet charm provided the serene trip we are looking for coming from a great family loss.

BORACAY
That afternoon my mother and sisters sent us off to the airport for our Kalibo flight. My sister, Armie will be following us to Boracay the next day. From Kalibo we took an hour and a half land trip to Caticlan, then a pump boat to the island of Boracay. I first took this route some 10 years back, and I was surprised that in spite of all the hoopla going on in Boracay, Kalibo has managed to still be a beautiful, clean and scenic countryside. I dont want to bother you with the transport details. But I just wish Caticlan airport will soon has the capacity to accommodate larger aircraft that will effectively cut travel time to Boracay island.

August was the height of the rainy season in the Philippines. But wow are we in for a great treat. People kept on telling us that it was raining heavily the past week. But for the five days we spend in Boracay, it was all glorious sunshine, minus the humidity. SIMPLY FANTASTIC!!! Summer is the best time to go to the Philippine, but humidity will drive you crazy. But on rainy or monsoon season without the rain is just splendid! Of course its gonna take a lot of good luck charm to actually experience five days of endless sunshine in a monsoon season. Maybe the fates are just with us.

Me, my sister and my friends, loved every minute we spent in Boracay. All we did was eat, dive, relax and shop and then again!!! Its my third time in Boracay, but its long stretch of white sand and golden sunset never cease to amaze me.

There were somber moments of course looking at the sunset and thinking what we have just been through. Sometimes communing with nature's beauty makes you more pensive. I just wish my Mama can still witness such beauty.

BACK TO MANILA
Five days went by so fast. We headed back to Manila, sent off my friends back to Japan but not before grabbing their lunches at Jollibbee, again!!! Yes they fell in love with the happy bee.

Me and my sister met up with my Mom and Arianne to go to the cemetery to celebrate my grandma's 9 days. Im really not quite exactly sure what the significance of 9th day celebration. I guess it has something to do with Jesus ascending to heaven on the 9th day. After which together with all my relatives, we went to have a family dinner at a sea food restaurant somewhere. I volunteered to pay for the bill, as its the least I can do for my grandma! There were a lot of laughter but you can feel an unspoken loneliness amongst all. I am just happy to be surrounded by family.

The next day which is my last day in Manila was spent just hanging out with my sisters and Mom. I left the next day, bringing my grieving self back to Japan, while leaving my grieving family in Manila. Its too early to find any silver lining to the death of my grandma. But I'm sure my bond with my sisters are stronger than ever. This trip enables us to get strength from each other and make it a comforting tool for our loss.

THIS TRIP HAS BEEN A HELL OF A JOURNEY
I chose a path to live constantly away from home. Taking residence in two foreign countries for the past 8 years and traveling every opportunity I get. I do miss my family, but I also enjoy the freedom to be by myself. Recently started raising a family away from home, well, that now is a real challenge! But still having a blast.

I was also constantly traveling throughout the Philippines at the time I was working there. My mama told me once, "rolling stone gather no moss". To which I disagreed and told her, "but the rolling stone has the most fun". Thinking about it now, I indeed loss precious time to be with my Mama on the last years of her life and worst, I missed out an opportunity to say goodbye to my dearest Mama!

This trip is the most important I've made. It made me realize a lot of things. It made me realize that there's a price to be paid for loving your independence too much or having too much fun at life. Given a chance, should I change anything? Probably not. But I will do forever miss my Mama everyday of my life!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb