On The Verge and Back Again


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I find myself wandering the streets of Manila at 6:00am wondering about the funny feeling in my stomach as search for answers on how to get to Dau. Jeff and I finally figure out which bus station we need to get to as well as how to get there. Off we go on a local bus to the Cubao Bus Station. As we are riding the bus I begin to realize that funny feeling is not so funny anymore and I am waiting to get to our bus stop just so I can vomit. I look at Jeff and it seems he feels the same way. I guess we should not have splurged at that nice Japanese restaurant in the Bangkok airport. Appearantly street food does us better.

I continually ask people at every stop if this is cubao. I tend to get the same reply most of the 10 or so times I ask until the 11th. Then I get the response "you passed Cubao 15 minutes ago". Great. Let me off the bus now please. Jeff and I rush off the bus run to the sidewalk and both have a nice puking contest to see who is the sickest. I think we may have found a minor case of food sickness.

We get a metered taxi back to cubao and hop on the cheap bus with open windows to head up to Dau. Good choice as I vomited out the window about 4 times on the way up. Aaahhh the good life of traveling. The nice thing is at the end we had a real hotel waiting for us with aircond and hotwater. Civilization....well sort of.

We didn't stay in Ronnie's city that long. Just long enough to have some street food adventures, meet up with Chuck, and say hi to family. Chuck and I tried the Balut (half formed duck embryos in an egg) yummy. Actually it was not that bad. If you did not think about or look at or look at what you were eating it tasted a lot like a hard boiled egg. We also tried some nice BBQ'd pig belly and whole roasted chicken. All really good.

After that it was pretty much a good bye to Jeff and Chuck and I were off to Palawan for some island relaxing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Chickens in a CoopChickens in a Coop
Chickens in a Coop

Stuck in Trike
Balut EggsBalut Eggs
Balut Eggs

They don't look so bad
Happy or NotHappy or Not
Happy or Not

Neither one of us look happy about this one. At least CHuck is like me and will try anything.
Still DecidingStill Deciding
Still Deciding

still not sure about it. My mouth is arguing with my mind
Chicken Buses Chicken BusesChicken Buses Chicken Buses
Chicken Buses Chicken Buses

you got to love them. They have the same concept everywhere. Here they call they Jeepneys
Street FoodStreet Food
Street Food

Notice no other foreigners there. There is also a begger behind us .
Just Like Pollo TropicalJust Like Pollo Tropical
Just Like Pollo Tropical

Chop that baby up
Ronnie's New HouseRonnie's New House
Ronnie's New House

Just having a conversation after breakfast


21st July 2008

We said "Don't eat that!"
That is so funny. I know how you felt. I threw up for eight months when I was pregnant with you and it isn't fun! We have yelled into our computers "Don't eat that Brett!" We know you can't hear us but we yell anyway. Good picture of you and the cute old guy...We miss you...keep on going and keep on eating... Love From Us in America
21st July 2008

U never cease to amaze me...
With the nastiness u will put in ur mouth!! Its no wonder you was hurling off the bus!!! Jeeze Brett!!! I hate to be the one to mention this, but uuummm, ur American sweetheart! Ur belly wasnt designed for half formed duck embryos or any other half formed animals!! Luv ya!! Hope ur enjoying ur trip!!! Come back in 1 piece without any funky overseas disease!!! e

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb