Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
October 4th 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Air Asia flight AK32Air Asia flight AK32Air Asia flight AK32

getting on board my Air Asia flight...taking the stairs.
I wasn’t looking forward to that 4:30 a.m. wake up call, so I got up on my own at 4:20 a.m. I’d do it on my own terms. The taxi was waiting for me (prearranged) by 4:50, and I was off for the LCCT (Low Cost Carrier Terminal outside K.L.)

My Air Asia flight was at 7:20 a.m. on October 2 (Tuesday). With no traffic, we made it in less than 1 hour...plenty of time to navigate through the 1000’s of other people at the airport that were also up way too early.

I got a good window seat near the front on a brand new airplane (seats aren’t assigned on Air Asia…you stand in line, and grab what you can). For how low budget Air Asia is ($80 round trip between K.L, Malaysia and Manila, Philippines), they sure have a lot of new planes. This one looked like it had never been used before.

I arrived in the Philippines to discover I was in Clark, not Manila. It’s north of Manila, and there isn’t much around it. The airport is small…so small that our plane was the only one there. I inquired about a taxi but the
On The BusOn The BusOn The Bus

Here I am on the way to Manila
cost was $68. How about a bus? $6.80. I’ll take that, thank you. Actually, 3000 pesos and 300 pesos, respectively. The lone money changer got my $100 U.S. bill for a lousy rate of 44.1 pesos per $1. I just had to wait for all the passengers from my plane to clear immigration and baggage before we could leave. No problem.

It turns out Manila was flooded from 2 days of rain. Thus, it took a couple of hours to reach the bus terminal (Genesis’ bus terminal) through the bad traffic and water. From there I had to take a taxi to Malate, the area in Manila where I would be staying. The cost is normally 150 pesos ($3.40) but I paid 250 pesos ($5.67) due to the circumstances, and I had to bargain for that. Lots of people were looking for taxis.

Manila, what can I say? I really haven't seen much. I have been staying in Malate, an older part of Metro Manila. This area has character, but also crime and poverty. In fact, within an hour after checking into my hotel (Malate Pensionne), a guy tried to steal my money. I was walking along Adriatic Rd
Manila BayManila BayManila Bay

picture of Manila Bay & boardwalk in Malate.
in the rain, and stopped to get cover under an overhang. While there, a guy grabbed my money. He actually got the money from my front pocket (I use a money clip for bills; separate wallet for credit cards, license, etc). What did I do? I grabbed it back, and took off into the rain again.

Not a good start in the Philippines.

It has since improved. Manila holds some interest. It has an intriguing past (Philippines were colonized by the Spanish and U.S., and then taken by the Japanese in WWII). It does have its share of problems though. The poverty in Manila is well documented, and there is that crime and pollution typical with most large cities.

Day #2 in Manila (Wednesday) was mostly sunny, and enabled some better exterior photos. I walked to Manila Bay (fairly close to my hotel). I also ate a very good dinner at Bistro Remedios, part of a chain of restaurants here. All for a bit over $10.

Ok, it's getting late...really late. 2:30 a.m. Thursday morning.

Tomorrow (umm, ok later today) I'm off to the island of Boracay. I got a flight for about $37 that
Malate Pensionne ExteriorMalate Pensionne ExteriorMalate Pensionne Exterior

A shot on my 2nd day (no rain!) from the front. There is a Starbucks at the entrance.
leaves @ 3:15 p.m.

Signing out...

There goes Dave!





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Malate Pensionne RoomMalate Pensionne Room
Malate Pensionne Room

The Interior of a Deluxe Room - around $28
Malate Pensionne InteriorMalate Pensionne Interior
Malate Pensionne Interior

Another shot of my room at the Malate Pensionne.
Bistro RemediosBistro Remedios
Bistro Remedios

Filipino restaurant in Malate (Metro Manila) with a good atmosphere and food.
Fish at Bistro RemediosFish at Bistro Remedios
Fish at Bistro Remedios

A very good Tilapia fish dish with garlic rice.
JeepneysJeepneys
Jeepneys

Public Transportation in the Philippines...haven't been on one yet, but they are all over the place in Manila.
Trippy Flooding PhotoTrippy Flooding Photo
Trippy Flooding Photo

A blurry shot out the bus window while traveling through Manila. This gas station is completely flooded.


4th October 2007

Does Starbucks has blackberry greentea there? :-p
5th October 2007

Starbucks
The country sounds ok if it has a Starbucks! Sorry to hear about the guy stealing your money, glad you got it back!!! You go Dave!! Woohoo!! I love hearing about the adventures....nice litle study break for me! Have fun and be SAFE!!
4th August 2008

malate
sorry about the snatchers, good thing you got your money back. I frequent the starbucks branch there. Next time you drop by malate you should try Cafe Adriatico, near bistro Remedios. Good food as well.

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb