The market


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
August 1st 2005
Published: August 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

There's a huge market very close to where we live here in Manila and I thought I'd share some pictures of it with you. It's called Commonwealth market, and as you might suspect, it's along Commonwealth Avenue. As part of trying to live like Filipinos do (which I can never really do - after all, I know that I can leave anytime that times get really tough and I never really have to worry about going hungry or not having enough money to buy food for myself and my family), we try to get our food at the market instead of the grocery store at the mall. The grocery store is alot more expensive, although it does have some of my favourite foods like cereal (which I am trying to wean myself off of) and peanut butter (which I doubt I will ever be able to wean myself off of!). And to top it all off, the market is fascinating! It's loud and teeming with people - organized chaos! I love it! They sell everything from fruits and veggies to dry goods, nuts, clothes, and hardware! One stop shopping! Everything is insanely fresh (sometimes the fish are still wriggling on the stand!) and all of the fruits and veggies taste so much better than in Canada that I really don't ever want to eat another Canadian (I use the term loosely because we import everything we eat!) banana or tomato!

So when we go to the market (that would be Sarah and I), we usually buy stuff like mangoes, eggplant, tofu, chicken (you buy a half a chicken and they just hack it up into bite size bits!), bananas (there are about 10 varieties to choose from, but you have to be careful to get the ones that you don't have to cook first!), tomatoes, onions, raisins, jackfruit, avocadoes (to die for in shakes with evaporated milk, sugar, and crushed ice!), fresh greenback mussels (yum, yum - I hope you're jealous mum!), and fish (only if I feel adventurous because it always has a million little bones in it, as you buy it whole and I don't know how to prepare it!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



1st August 2005

Sounds delicious!
The food sounds delicious (and yes, I am envious of you eating FRESH mussels!). I can't get over how happy the people look in your pictures. Are they just like that all the time or do they like being photographed? By the way, you come by your love of markets very honestly!!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb