Pagsanjan: The Philippines Little Amazon


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Laguna » Pagsanjan
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=5fyrc1bPFac]My ultimate jungle and wild river ride experience would be the trip to Pagsanjan falls. It’s the Philippines little amazon where the river flows through magnificent canyons sheltered by lush vegetation.

The wild river ride tour started slow from the dock where we hired the canoes. The canoes are manhandled by two boatmen. I couldn’t understand at first why our canoes have to be stringed and towed by a motorised boat at the entrance of the canyons. Then I realized that the boatmen were merely conserving their strength for the rapids we’re about to battle as we enter the mouth of the magnificent gorge. The calm river turned into cascading rapids. With extreme agility and strength, our boatmen hop on and off the canoes skilfully manoeuvring the canoes upstream against the rapids. I can’t help but be amazed with such incredible showmanship - this alone was an awesome entertainment. As we entered the magnificent canyons, I was overwhelmed with emotions that’s hard to explain. It was surreal. The mind-blowing sights and eerie sound of the jungle caused a great sense of awe … all I can say was …wow.

I was a little baffled to why one of our boatmen asked me if I don’t mind getting wet. Being in the river battling rapids and all, I think getting wet was really out of the question. Then…..unexpectedly…our boatmen started paddling vigorously towards the mini-waterfall…before we know it, we’re right under it…soaking wet !
Our boatmen are a bunch of cunning clowns who joked a lot and played tricks on us. On the other hand, we found them truly amazing and amiable.

Like what most tourists do, we took a lot of photos of ourselves and of course…the scenery and waterfall.

So here they are….enjoy !


P.S
I was going to write about how a flagger almost scared us to death. We tried to dodge him few times and still managed to follow us. But it’s a long story….he’s just trying to get clients/tourists for a commission….cheers !






Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Pagsanjan Falls
One of our boatmenOne of our boatmen
One of our boatmen

Pagsanjan Falls
Mini-waterfallMini-waterfall
Mini-waterfall

a nice cold shower under the waterfall
Waterfall PitstopWaterfall Pitstop
Waterfall Pitstop

My cousin Tina & Liam
Our GroupOur Group
Our Group

Pagsanjan Falls
My cousins & IMy cousins & I
My cousins & I

Pagsanjan Falls
My cousins & IMy cousins & I
My cousins & I

Pagsanjan Falls
Liam and ILiam and I
Liam and I

Pagsanjan Rapids


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb