Surfing Fun!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » La Union » San Fernando
November 30th 2008
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to yet another out of town trip; the main destination was Baguio and then La Union to try surfing (Me, wanting this so bad more than anyone else, I think).

We went to the bus station to buy tickets but we were not able to anticipate the number of people going out of town for the long weekend. Monday was a public holiday so the busses for Baguio were fully booked and the next trip would be 05:00AM the next day! Is this the beginning of a disaster?

Of course there was no Plan B, just an immediate Plan B made on the spot -- we had to revise the itinerary. We would go to La Union first before Baguio, or find another route, maybe go to Dagupan, then to Baguio and to La Union -- whichever that will work. We were already there and nobody definitely wanted to cancel this trip.

Herbie called his parents, who were going to be our host in La Union, to inform them about the sudden change of plans. As accommodating as they were, we didn’t had any problems with that.

We finally got on a bus to La
PlayingPlayingPlaying

Sebay Surfing Resort, La Union
Union. It was about five hours trip and faster than usual, as per Herbie's parents, Tatay Herman & Nanay Tessie.

We arrived at San Fernando City at around five in the morning so we slept for a few hours and got up at around eight.

...
Breakfast
Change to swimming Clothes
Put on sun block


Our friend’s parents drove us to SeBay Surfing Resort located at a nearby town, San Juan.

This was what we have been waiting for!
Connie and I went first. The waves did look scary but I was too excited to try it, definitely there’s no backing out.

The instructors gave us a few lessons and tips and we’re off to the raging waters.


Paddle against the wave
Paddle
Paddle
Push yourself up from the board whenever you see a nice big wave coming
Turn the board around
Ready ... curl right leg up
… Wait for the right timing …
Stand!

I was able to stand on my first try! Hmmm, not too bad.

… That went for an hour.

Bruised knees, sore everywhere, a high five from the instructor for a job well done, and one good smack on my head. Try to NEVER fall at the side of the board because the next thing you know, it’s banging on your head. If this isn’t six hours away from Manila, I would love to do this often! I knew I was going to enjoy this; everybody did and agreed that we should be doing this again.

The waves became too strong and the instructors didn’t want to take any risk (there goes our fun!), and so we later entertained ourselves by staying near shore and play wrestle with the waves. Then off we went to change and to transfer to our host's Ancestral House.

Dinner that night, I had my first Papaitan(goat meat+bile flavored stew of tripes and innards), a local delicacy. The Papaitan/Goat meat got lots of bones but tasted good! I think we we never stopped eating in La Union.

Videoke singing came next but I couldn’t join in because whenever I get hold of the microphone, I get the electric current running in me and to make matters worse, Arcelle and I produce static electricity out of each other and it didn’t feel good either. So instead
Let's get it on!Let's get it on!Let's get it on!

Sebay Surfing Resort, La Union
of getting electrocuted, I went to the living room, slumped lazily on the sofa and stuck my nose on a vampire book, too tired anyway.


Chapter 21 - FIRST HUNT
Singing from outside
Chapter 22 - PROMISED
More singing
Chapter 23 - MEMORIES
Singing
Chapter 24 - SURPRISE
And more singing
Chapter 25 - FAVOR
Sing … sing
Chapter 26 - SHINY


zZZ SNORE zZZz

And up again at five in the morning with one of my ears not functioning right. Might have something to do with getting smacked by the surf board or too much water in either of them. I tried not to talk much as it only made it worse and just ignored it anyway.


Morning bath (freezing!brrrr!)
Breakfast (another set of good food)
Get Ready for Baguio.


It was more or less an hour trip from La Union. First stop was Lourdes Groto. There were 100 steps, we were panting when we got to the top. Herbie got a prize for reaching it ahead of everyone else.

At the Strawberry Fields, La Trinidad Benguet, the strawberries weren't ripe enough to be picked yet, so we just
SurfingSurfingSurfing

Sebay Surfing Resort, La Union
walked around the fields, ate strawberry flavored ice cream, and then went to the shops.

Mines view Park. If you’ve been here, you might know who Douglas and Douglas JR are. I thought there was nothing new to see so I offered to look after the bags, ate sugar glazed banana and corn.

Lunch (aaahh more food!)


We went to Camp John Hay to experience Starbucks Baguio, hug pine trees because we heard from an advertisement that they help relieve stress, and hiked the place mostly because we didn’t know which way to go (we only depended on directions given by the security guards).

We also went boating at the Burnham Park's man-made lake and took silly Bioman pose photos.

Last stop was the wet Market to buy fresh, cheap fruits and vegetables.

It was walking and walking and more walking in Baguio. By the time we got on the bus back to La Union, my bad back was screaming 'Lie Down!', I couldn’t stop fidgeting on my seat, and I badly needed the window opened but could not because it was broken! Arcelle though I was feeling sick. I actually needed the
SunsetSunsetSunset

Sebay Surfing Resort, La Union
cool wind to help me breath and to keep myself from passing out. Gone beyond my limits, at least I was able to keep myself conscious until we were back at Herbie's house. I excused myself from dinner, collapse to the bed ... and then I was back to normal (sort of). At least now I’m completely sure that I’m no Superwoman; I just can’t ruin this apparently lovely lovely trip. The next struggle was the 6 hours trip back to Manila. Surprisingly, it did not turn out to be much of a struggle. I was too exhausted to notice all the discomfort; I had the longest sleep while on transit. We arrived in Manila at 4:00ish in the morning and I was back working in the office at 10:00!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

HotelHotel
Hotel

Camp John Hay, Baguio
Pet CemeteryPet Cemetery
Pet Cemetery

Camp John Hay, Baguio
Strawberry Ice CreamStrawberry Ice Cream
Strawberry Ice Cream

Benguet Strawberry Farm
Stuff for saleStuff for sale
Stuff for sale

Benguet Strawberry Farm


Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 142; dbt: 0.13s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb