Terrace talk


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Ifugao » Banaue
July 27th 2007
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

It took 2 uncomfortable jeepney rides to reach Banaue, with the 2nd one made more of a torture courtesy of an English guy sitting next to me who just wouldn't shut up, even when I closed my eyes to indicate I wanted a nap. He subsequently went up on the roof and was replaced by a young woman who chundered copiously after 10 minutes in the jeepney. I caught a faint spray of vomit on my neck.

Banaue's claim to fame is that it's the main town in a region whose landscape contains large numbers of rice terraces constructed about 2,000 years ago. The nearby small village of Batad is supposedly home to some of the best of them, so we stayed the night in Banaue going to, and coming from, Batad (which is blogged separately).

Banaue itself occupies a pleasant spot in a valley, and has its own scenic rice terraces look-out (which we didn't visit). I think I completely eliminated the town's Dairy Milk reserves, as I needed a stash both for immediate consumption and for hiking provisions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb