Cruising in a Jeepney


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
March 6th 2015
Published: March 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

First night in the Philippines and at my CouchSurf host Klaudia, came to her cute little apartment in Cebu city had a beer and a chat with her before it was time for bed.
Woke up the next day alone in the apartment and had my own key, no trust issues here.

I had no real idea where I was but lonley planet said that uptown should be a cool place so after asking around and getting asked at least a dozen times why I'm traveling alone and "where's your boyfriend?" Well we have a long distance relationship since he lives in the future.

I didn't want to be a typical tourist and take a cab to the city, not that I seen any other tourist than me but still. So I jumped in a jeepney which is a mix between a jeep and a bus, it cost around 8 pesos which is not even 20 cents or 2kr.
sitting in this jeepney sweating my ass of not knowing where I was going, asked a bunch of people if they know where I should go off, they tried to help me but since I didn't know where i was going they couldn't really help.
Luckily the sweetest local girl started talking to me and helping me out. Ended up spending the day with her, visiting the carbon, the local market where I shouldn't go by myself but it was a pretty interesting place. Fruit and veggies as fresh as it could be, the mango so incredibly sweet and the air heavy for all the gas from the vehicles.
To be street smart
Don't flash your gadgets off
Don't jump in a empty jeepney
Have your back on the front when you're uptown
Best people to ask is the guards
Don't go running the same track more than twice

Words I learned
Usa - one
Dhua - two
Tulo - three
Salamat - thanks

The Philippines is very different to Bali, there's very few tourist and you actually get to know their culture. The locals are so sweet and helpful and they are so tiny so for the first time I feel tall and I like it!







Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb