Pico De Loro hike


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cavite
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left at 4am on what looked like a dump truck! It was horrible. But that was the best thing those kids could come up with and Im very proud of them for organizing the trip without much help from the adults. But yes, it was uncomfortable.

Pico De Loro is two hour drive from Manila. And it takes two and a half hours to get to the top. I didnt have breakfast, I dont think anyone did. We also didnt get much sleep. Which is bad. I should have been the responsible adult to tell them to sleep early. But since I didnt get to sleep much and didnt have breakfast my energy was running out after just 20 minutes of hiking. We came across a station where there was running water coming from the mountain so we filled our bottles. Good thing there was a lady there who was selling fruits so I had papaya for breakfast.

It was a very difficult climb for me. Pico De Loro is very steep. My legs hurt like hell. Emie was her usual energizer bunny self I couldnt keep up with that girl. Although Im the one who gets regular exercise. We had to stop a couple of times coz I just couldnt keep going anymore. Its a bit embarrassing but theres nothing I can do when my legs fail. Then i saw a man who had a bad case of polio on his way down and I suddenly found the energy to walk again. If this man with disability can make it to the top well so can I. He was actually clubfooted. I'm not sure if thats the same as polio. Then we had to stop again coz I just couldnt walk anymore although I was telling myself repeatedly that "I can do this!"
But the adrenalin rush of reaching the summit gave me the energy when we were near the top and I forgot that I was tired. Suddenly I felt refreshed and re-energized.

It was an even more difficult climb to the summit. You cant take pictures on your way up coz its very very steep. Maybe like 75 degrees. You only hold on to the grass to keep you from falling. When it was time to eat the sardines I brought with me tasted like heaven. Thats what I love about hiking. You appreciate
PeacePeacePeace

she always makes that peace sign when she gets photographed
the littlest comforts. Like Milo and Sardines. My legs hurt for three days after this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SteepSteep
Steep

sometimes all you can hold on to is grass to keep you from falling
Our GroupOur Group
Our Group

thats the summit in the background. This mountain is called Pico de Loro because the summit looks like a parrots head in some angles. I cant see it from this side though
at the summitat the summit
at the summit

it was very hot. the summit is very small. only a few at a time can go there. we had to take turns


7th April 2010

sino guide nyu sa pico? :)
pahingi naman contacts kung sino nagguide sa inyu sa trek na to :) one day hike to db? thanks a :D
8th April 2010

no guide
the trail is simple enough to follow. no guide needed there. it only takes two to three hours to reach the summit
12th May 2010

good day sir! my friends and i are planning to climb this weekend, just want to know if the signs are still good and if the waterfalls hasn't dried up yet...thanks
13th May 2010

signs?
i didnt see any. its very likely that the river has dried up
22nd September 2010

hike with a 6 yrd old kid
hi... we are planning to go on mountain hike at pico de loro with a 6yr old kid... do you think he can make it at least in the camp site? thanks.
24th September 2010

too young
its not an easy climb. you might have to carry him in some parts. i would not recommend it
30th September 2010

we need guide
post ko ln tong comment ko kasi ung mga kasama ko kylangan ng guide pero ako im confident i can manage them pero group is a group kya cla masusunod i read a lot of blogs about pico de loro can u tell me kung saang part madalas naliligaw ang mga hikers nito thanks and love your blog pre
30th September 2010

one part
its hard to describe coz there arent any signboards when i was there. yun lang ang natatandaan kong puzzling. go right. dun sa paakyat. sorry if this is not much help but its really hard to differentiate and describe that place. but its the only part that made ask, "huh?"

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb