A trip to Balangagan Cave


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bulacan
October 9th 2016
Published: October 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

When I first came in Sagada, I was already amused with the surrounding. I felt like I’m in another planet because its beauty was incomparable to the city. Everything was so natural and calm, considering that it was in the Northern part of Luzon. But, more than the environment I was really looking forward to the activities that we could do during the trip. From all of the activities, I most enjoyed the caving part. I could say that I was nervous but as a first time traveler it was a fulfilling achievement that I will always remember.

After a 30 minute walk from the Kanip-aw view lodge, we finally reached the Balangagan cave. It looks small from the outside but it was surprisingly huge inside. I was also looking forward to the Blue-watered natural pool at the mouth of the cave, which was reviewed by other bloggers in the internet. But when we got there, the water was as brown as a mud. I was sad but I just thought that it was just because the rain was pouring at that time.

While climbing, I felt scared not only because the mouth of the cave was high but it was also slippery. I thought I was going to fall but I tried really hard to hold on the rocks and lift myself. When finally, we were going to enter the cave, the tour guide advised us to remove our slippers so that we could move freely inside.

The temperature inside the cave was different from outside. It was very cold inside and I don’t understand why? It was a closed area I thought that it was supposed to be warm inside. The tour guide led the way while telling stories to us, which is usually what a tour guide does. He also added that he was also scared not only for himself but also for the tourists. He was also teasing us that we might get lost inside the cave.



When we finally at the heart of the cave, I noticed the small holes on the soil inside. Due to curiosity, I asked the tour guide why there are so many holes. He said that it was because there are worms inside. I really had goosebumps when he said that because I don’t like to see many holes. Moving on, when I looked around I saw some stalactite and stalagmite but I was curious with the rocks that was watery and slippery so I asked the tour guide again. He said that because it was still alive and they are at that stage they tend to change it form. While we were heading back, we noticed a small pool actually there was three of them. We just took pictures and decided to go back. I really had fun so I will always treasure and remember this memory forever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb