Adventures in Food Part 2: Boracay


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
February 4th 2012
Published: February 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Chilli CrabChilli CrabChilli Crab

So fresh and the sauce was delicious - added flavour but didn't overpower the crab.
Filipino food is not so much an adventure as it is yummy goodness. For a pescotarian like me, it was heaven being somewhere with such rich seafood and fish offerings. It was also refreshing after Shanghai, which has been challenging because of the language barrier and the love of pork.

While in Boracay, I got to eat some of the freshest seafood I have ever had. On our last night there, I devoured a crab that was so fresh and so well-seasoned I thought I was in heaven (and I’m not kidding about the devouring, I really should have taken an after picture, it was a mess).

Another favourite was Sinigang Gambas - probably one of the best sauces I have ever had on shrimp. They served it at our hotel and I started to have cravings for it with a concerning frequency by the end of the week. It was the perfect combo of sweet and spicy. If anyone reading this has a recipe for it, send it my way.

The one thing I’m sad about is that I never came across the any great coconut based deserts that the Filipinos are known for. I’m not sure
Sinigang GambasSinigang GambasSinigang Gambas

My new favourite shrimp dish. No joke - I am OBSESSED.
if it was not the season or a regional thing, but few Filipino deserts were on offer where we ate. I guess it will have to be on my list for the next visit (and there will be a next visit in the future – yummy food and awesome beaches are pretty much all I want in life).


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Squid AdoboSquid Adobo
Squid Adobo

Adobo is the quintessential Filipino dish. We had this on a random beach while island hopping at a shack. My mouth said yes, but I must admit my stomach said no (squid at a seaside shack was probably not the best choice in retrospect).
Gulaman SagoGulaman Sago
Gulaman Sago

This is a Filipino drink that has a strong sugar cane taste and pieces of jello and tapioca balls. Upon googling I have learned that the name refers to the gulaman pieces (a jelly made from dried seaweed) and sago pieces (tapioca pearls) and the drink is simply water and brown sugar, not actual sugar cane juice. It was delicious.
Grilled PrawnsGrilled Prawns
Grilled Prawns

These were the "medium sized" prawns available - there were some the size of my head I could have chosen, but this was meant to be a light meal.


Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb