Panglao


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bohol » Panglao
December 4th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Finally got to Panglao Island, off the coast of Bohol by taking a ferry from Cebu City. I travelled with John - a Scottish guy who (believe it or not) had just been stabbed in Manila by 'hold-uppers'. Being a Scotchman he decided not to let go of the money belt even after being faced by a knife. Instead he had a scuffle and got stabbed in the leg. The hold-uppers got away with just blood. He had to go to hospital for a few stiches and was a bit worried about being in the philippines cos this had happened within hours of him arriving. So after meeting a friendly face in Cebu, he decided to come with me, to a place he'd never heard of.
Panglao Island was a nice surprise - easygoing, very quiet indeed at the night-time and full of Dive shops - some better than others. The one i tried was right on the beach frequented by mainly Germans who have quite a large presence on the Island. I decided to do some dives and signed up for 6 with an Instructor there, hoping sure that language or anything else would all be fine.
To my surprise the instructor was really poor, and not interested in helping me recall the finer points of diving. I didn't let this spoil the dives tho - underwater around the Island on the reefs was amazing - so much life!!
The sunsets in the Visayas are amazing. My cheapo camera didn't do it justice, but trust me, they were truly breathtaking. At 5pm everynight the beach fills up with tourists taking sn



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Alona beach sunset + meAlona beach sunset + me
Alona beach sunset + me

Where's my wife???


10th January 2008

nice photo
nice photos! cool! Mitch http://www.mechelle.wordpress.com/

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb