The Buck's night


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Albay » Guinobatan
January 12th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Buck's NightBuck's NightBuck's Night

My bed for the night - perhaps some cruel buck's night prank?????
Well where do I start. So completely different from anything I've ever experienced before.

The clobber for one is very different - the Filipino formal wear is basically any pair of strides, a T-shirt and an item called 'Barong Tagalog'. This is traditionally made of silk and is a very light weight top with (usually) ornate embroidery on the front. I gotta say, for something so light weight and with such an open weave - they're remarkably hot to wear.

So let's go back a bit to the Buck's night. Firstly Squish insisted that I disappear and sleep elsewhere for the night, even thought the other (re)Groom stayed at home with his (re)Bride. The Buck's celebrations consisted of tw oof Squish's nephews (approx 14 and 17), a cousin of her's (probably in his 30's), her sister (yes - her sister - presumably to keep an eye on us - although I don't know what we could have gotten up to in a place like Guinobatan) and her sister's beau (nice bloke called Dexter). Oh and we lashed out and bought 6 tinnies between us - probably not a bad thing because I was developing a fever by Monday night. So the four adults drank 6 San Mig Lights and because of the young dude we watched subtitled Japanese Cartoons.

You may have guessed by this stage, I opted for an early night. However, that didn't do me a lot of good as with the associated aches and pains of the oncoming fever and the fact that my bed consisted of a plywood sheet covered with a rattan mat - sleep wasn't much of an option.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb