Mt Mayon.


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Albay » Guinobatan
January 5th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

From San Francisco BridgeFrom San Francisco BridgeFrom San Francisco Bridge

I like this shot because of the way the Village of Muinobatan frames Mayon. This shot is less than a click from Squish's place. Most shots I've seen are simply Mayon on its own or empty fields in the foreground.
As I've said earlier, so far I have not seend a single pic that does this majestic landmark any justice whatsoever. I reckon you could spend a lifetime shooting this wonder and still not get THAT SHOT. I have included a few though just to show a couple of aspects of it.

Just an aside for the non-Filipinos taking the time to read my waffling, MAYON actually means Beautiful and personally I believe that to be a gross understatement. Personally I have been awestruck by it's presence.

Interestingly, because of the cloud cover that's been in place most of the time, I didn't realise, but if you walk about 20-30 paces up the road of Squish's place - on a clear day (like today and yesterday) you can actually see the peak. The only reason we can't see it from here is building and vegetation obstruct the view. At night you can actually see the tip of glowing when the sky is clear.

Have I mentioned how in awe of this mountain I am?????? Truly glad I made the trip despite my initial reservations.

One final thing on Mayon (for the moment at least) - you wil
PanoramaPanoramaPanorama

Also from San Francisco bridge
notiuce at least one of the shot has water in the foreground - that is from Donsol when we where Whale Shark Spotting.

legaspi-donsol.kml
Even capture the bit whilst on the water and included again to give you a ref from whence the Mayon pic was taken


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Panorma 2Panorma 2
Panorma 2

This is a Panorama of the typical shot I've seen to date
Mayon Whale SpottingMayon Whale Spotting
Mayon Whale Spotting

This is Mayon as seen from the water in Donsol, Sorsogon. Kinda a little bit like Mt Fuiji in some respects I guess [url=http://www.mediafire.com/?dj82nnmxxxzf8rx]legaspi-donsol.kml[/url]
CracksCracks
Cracks

The locals tell me that the two scars in this profile are from the last eruption - well SOME of them do anyway
Mayon from Squish's PlaceMayon from Squish's Place
Mayon from Squish's Place

This shot was taken about 30 paces from Squish's front gate. Trees and the house across the road obscure the view directly in front


6th January 2011
From San Francisco Bridge

Mayon
It is a truly majestic mountain. It is between 15,000 and 35,000 years old and has had a very active history. There have been many eruptions that caused major damage and loss of life. Ash flows during eruptions or flows of mud and volcanic debris during monsoons are the main culprits. It would be interesting to have a look into the cauldron.
6th January 2011

Mayon
That for the additional info Jimmy. Cheers Looking forward to our annual Guinness
6th January 2011

Mayon
Oops that should read Thanks

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb