Kashmir Solidarity Day (Pakistan)


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Azad Kashmir
February 5th 2017
Published: February 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I'm going to start by saying that I take no side in the Kashmir Conflict. I don't know enough about the conflict and as always, a day is not enough time.

Solidarity Day is observed by Kashmiri nationalists in Pakistan, and sees civil unrest in Indian Kashmir. The observance focuses on the unity of Kasmir, and is marked by the public processions, special prayers in mosques for the 'liberation'* of Kashmir and protests against India. Some years a human chain is formed along the major roads leading from Pakistan to Kashmir and Jammu. Kashmiri cultural events and festivities are also held.

I focused on Kashmiri culture, an almagation of Muslim, Hindu, Sikh and Buddhist philosophies across five regions; Jammu and Kashmir of India, Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltisan of Pakistan and Aksai Chin of China. Kashmiri culture is defined by its language, literature, cuisine and traditional values of mutual repsect. The majority of Kashmiri's are Muslim, though there has for centuries been friendly ties between Kashmiris of different religions.

For my brief swaray into Kasmiri culture, I made and drank Noon Chai (salted tea). It did not go pink as promised and tasted like I'd added a teaspoon of salt... Which is more or less it. (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noon_chai) Not bad. Not great. I could probably get used to it. More milk perhaps.

*(Any words that show preference to one side of the other I have put in quotations purely to show that it is not my opinion but wording from reading I have done whilst researching).

Tomorrow: Sami Day.

Advertisement



7th February 2017

interesting.
not sure salted tea is for me........ though im guessing it would be good for you if made with miniral salts.... :)
7th February 2017

Tea
I would honestly try it again!
4th May 2017

Toli Peer
Well guys that's a good read, but wait I've a suggestion for you if you've any plans to visit Pakistan, you need to visit Kashmir (Heaven on Earth) you will see real natural beauty created by holy God and the best place to visit in Kashmir is Tolipeer, Toli Pir is a peak range arranged in Tehsil Rawalakot in the Poonch District of Azad Kashmir. Its surmised height is around 8800 ft above ocean level. It is around 30 km, or a 45-minute drive, from Rawalakot in Azad Kashmir.the Charming climate with temperature going between 5 C to 12 C amid summers. If you want to visit and eat some quality food such as traditional and continental food you should visit http://www.akmeadows.pk its a restaurant and guest house of my friend with good hospitality and clean enviroment. You would love being there.

Tot: 0.424s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1127s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb