Setting Off for a Trek (take 2)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After almost a month staying in the village, I leave tomorrow (at 5:30 a.m.) for my first trek! I'm excited to be setting out for the first real hike of the trip (the excitement dulls slightly when I pick up my backpack), even though I'm going to miss being in Patan. While here, I've enjoyed staying with Jampa's family, done some great sight-seeing, feel like I'm really beginning to understand the layout of teh area (probably helps that I finally bought a map) and have had time to really relax/unwind. I'm still working on my ability to sit still while doing nothing, i.e., no book, no change in scenergy, no conversation, etc. I think this is a mix of skill, art-form and mind set. I can do it, but still generalyl find myself wishing for a book or a place to walk. Its also nice to be somewhere long enough to start to understand the politics, pressing issues, etc. Some of the most recent demonstrations/protests centered around student government elections at the colleges, which seem to be seen as somewhat of a litmus test for how the national parties are doing.

I'll be hiking with a guide who lives in the village where I have been staying, and is a friend of the family. (While he is not a porter, he is willing to help with the bag/load if needed. Sitting at the computer typing, my pride says that I will not ask him to help with the carrying, particuarly because he is older than me - in his 40s. We'll see how that pride holds up at 17,000 feet!) We spent about half of yesterday obtaining the requisite permits and bus tickets. I had made an initial foray on my own to confirm that no permit was necessary at least from the Immigration Department. The office was a couple of miles from the house, but I was dropped off there in the morning so only had to walk one way. The office confirmed for me that I needed a permit from another agency, which was on a street "nearby." WHile many people walk here, generally I have found that most think that a distance over a kilometer is beyond "nearby," so, even though I couldn't determine which street he meant, I figured I could find this new office by exploring the area. The Immigration Deptartment was on a street off of a traffic circle, which had four other off-shoot streets. I walked down each for 15-20 minutes but had no luck. Turns out, the new agency was actually several kilometers away. WHen I explained this to someone later, he pointed out that the government agent probably assumed I was travelling by taxi or motorcycle since the office wasn't located close to any residential reas, and in that case, the new place was nearby. It was the next day that I bought a map.

For the trek here, you don't actually have to bring much beyond the basics, which, given the heights, include warm clothing and a good sleeping bag, because there are guest houses along the way where you can purchase all of your meals. Nonetheless, I'm bringing a couple of basic meals and lots of snack food - my theory for hiking is that, no matter how out of shape I am, a constant supply of low amounts of sugar can keep me going! As such, I've got three rather large chocolate bars, enough mentos to make my teeth rot out, gummy candies and lots of trail mix. Given the weight of the latter, I may be eating a lot of that the first week! I actually initially took out one of the chocolate bars to lighten the load, but realized that was ridiculous and took out the cans of tunafish instead - have to have priorities!

Advertisement



24th March 2009

Backpack
I don't believe 42 is considered old anymore...even in the Tibetan culture. I suspect the guide could easily carry your pack, probably carries heavy burdens on a regular basis. Can't wait to hear about the trek.
24th March 2009

Your First Trek?
If you havebeen on anything,that is not considered a trek-arduous journey,so far,as Mr. Griimwig opined,"I'll eat my head with my hat on it." Stay well.
24th March 2009

about pride, but NOT falling
gee Al, that old guy-- in his 40's yet--couldn't possibly be in good enough shape to carry your bag! So looking forward to that story... Enjoy, stay warm, and love to all when you get back to Jawalkhel. Don't know if you will get this en route, but if so and you know your future route/ direction, do relay for potential monument proximity. d
25th March 2009

Baby carrots
Aladdine, will you have to trek in a supply of baby carrots, or are those available at the guest houses? It sounds like you're having a wonderful adventure. Charles.
30th March 2009

Snacks
Make sure to pack some canned sardines, cigarettes and a beer in case it starts to get cold and rainy and you want to feel completely miserable.
5th April 2009

Found you!
Sounds like a real adventure! Please keep the blogs coming. Myk is visiting in Switzerland in a few weeks - and we have your spot all warmed up... xox. -Irena
7th April 2009

Aladdine, You are -- I expect -- in the middle of somewhere, seeing great sights I hope. I wonder if that elderly 42 year old has had to carry you--if so, I hope you shared the chocolate.
8th April 2009

Alladine, envy
Of course we read this with joy and relish - but no hot dogs :-) Those moments with nothing to do, no outside stimulation, Aye, Lassie, 'tis meditiation that calls thee'. That's a quote from the Dali O'lama. Sounds so wonderful and glad you are well. Just in case you hadn't heard the BoSox won the opener and Beckett looked great (except a soft 3rd inning) Pedroia pops a homer at his first at bat and Varitek pops one too just to let everyone know "i'm still hee-uh" Trek on and be there. Namaste, jeff and janni

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb