Katmandu to Bangkok


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I just spent 4 fantastic days in Katmandu. When my university friend Michel saw on my facebook profile that I was in Nepal he told me he had family living there and that I was welcome to stay at their house. This was a great news and after almost 5 months backpacking around the planet, a little bit of comfort was indeed very welcome =) Thanks Michel !

So I met Sarah and her parents and I have been spending my few days in Nepal with them. Katmandu is a great city, with very lively shops, restaurants and cafes. Sarah was my guide in the city and she knew exactly which backstreets we had to take in order to visit the tourist areas without paying anything (most sites inside the city require some sort of entrance fee). Once a guard asked us about our ticket and she sorted it out by promptly responding in Nepali that she was living in Kathmandu.

I also decided to buy a new camera since my old one died and this time I went for a Nikon D40. I got it for about 300 euros with a 4Gb sd card so it looks like I had a good deal. I'm pretty happy about it and I've started to read the manual :p

Tomorrow I'll do Katmandu -> Delhi, a few hours later I'll do Delhi -> Mumbai and after a short night at the airport I'll do Mumbai -> Bangkok. Yes, that's 3 flight in less than 24 hours... Wish me luck with my luggage 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Bangkok to HongkongBangkok to Hongkong
Bangkok to Hongkong

I'll try to cycle through thailand, laos, vietnam and china (maybe 2500km?)
SarahSarah
Sarah

Thanks for everything !
Familly dinnerFamilly dinner
Familly dinner

They even had cheese, I mean real french cheese !


11th February 2009

Photos
I love the photos, and I see you've had a hair cut recently!!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb