Christmas a'la Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
December 26th 2007
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! May all your dreams and wishes come true!
I decided to spend the festivities in Royal Chitwan National Park in the southern part of Nepal. After my Bardia adventure on the way back to Kathmandu I have stopped in Sauraha ( a village nearby the park) and spent a very nice but short time here. As I really enjoyed myself.. I have decided that instead of running off to India right away I will spend Christmas and New Years Eve just chilling, reading and riding elephants and walking in the bushes, hoping to see some of the wildlife present here....
The second night I could get a glimpse of the local wildlife in form of a rat munching my bananas in a bag. I would have let it slide as I have done before (ie. in Bardia) but this particular roedent was very loud and I wasn't able to sleep as the bag was hanging on a coathanger ( oh yeah he was very agile) right beside my bed. after serious consideration I decided that I was bigger and smarter so probably I would be able to persuade him to leave and turned the light on. He has tried to outsmart me with no sucess and I made him leave. The next day my neighbor Bob told me that he has the same problem... the next night I thought I was safe, as no rat would be stupid enough to go back to a place where he has been busted. Just in case I put a banana on the table, so I would know when I come back to my room if I have a visitor or not. The next night, being Christmas Eve, I was invited to a party which I attended with Bob, (but we had to drink hard and get drunk fast in order to enjoy ourselves in the company of very bizarr people and the horrible cheap wine the best we could find. In my opinion it just needed some shallots and it would be a great vinagrette) needless to say that when I got home I didn't check the banana... have I checked, I would have known that I have a visitor... but I didn't, so I turned off the light and got to sleep, when the bastard run trough my bed (and yes, trough my body...) I naturally- being a woman - I screamed. Bob in the neighboring room laughed asking jokingly if I had a rat????
Oh yeah here we go again...I turned the light on and waited and watched amused how the rat was trying to get out in the same hole he has entered, but now he couldn't, 'cause his belly was full with my bananas....
after the 5th try he has suceeded and thankfully left the building. (not the building, as Bob told me the next day that he paid a visit to him and stole some food as well...
after being bullied by the rat (and the family hosting us telling us that they will get rid of the creature,) Bob just had enough and with help of one of our wildlife giude and his ice axe killed both of the rats ( yeah there were a couple) we have organized a skyburrial for the roedents and hoped that that would be the end of the ratstory...
Now you are probably thinking what sort of place is this, and why am I decided to spend the Christmas and New Years in company of rats instead of going - like everyone else who is backpacking in the area- down to Goa and party like there is no tomorrow on a beautyful white sandy beach...
The answer to that is all that Chitwan has to offer. Starting with the elephant bathing. I cannot discribe the feeling of being close and playing with those monstruosly big animals. I didn't want to get wet at first because the temperature is around 15C. Add to that cold water and the eqation will be shivering,
but I have enjoyed just watching how the elephants were playing with the tourists clearly enjoying themselves. You get up on their back trough their trunks holding to their ears. It is lot easier to say than actually have it done. After 2 days watching , in Christmas Day I decided (ok...everyone was working very hard on convincing me) that I will check it out for myself...
So off I went to get myself soaked in the muddy river.
The lovely beast helped me to hop on her back elevating his trunk on which I was standing while I was holding on to his ears and stayed still while I made my way trough his head to his back and off we went to the river. She sprayed me with trunk full of water several times, and when he thought that I wasn't wet enough, she shook me off his back very gently and off I went into the Rapti river. I climbed back and she shook me off again. It was a great laugh, and it wasn't even that cold after awhile. After the game of sending as much water in my direction as she could I climbed down and gave the animal a good scrub with stones and sand. She liked that part the most.... It was a magical Christmas : ))))
After the elephant bath I went on a safari on elephant back. It was a very touristy thing to do, but I enjoyed every minute of it. we have seen 5 rhinos. A mom with a baby grazing away while dozens of tourists ( myself included) took pictures of them from the back of these beasts. The rhinos does not care and let the elephant go really close even when they are with their precious offspring. Getting this close could be very dangerous if not deadly to do on a foot...( we were 2- 3 meters away of them) and an angry rhino is not a nice sight.
( I got chased by two of those in Africa on a horseback and it was no fun whatsoever...)
we have seen a Tucan, and also a peacock before we got to a clearing where 3 rhinos were grazing... I took some really cool shots...
Other than spending New Years Eve in the middle of the Jungle in a viewing tower alone listening to the wildlife (and watching for the first time a peacock flying : )))) and canooeing in one of the 20000 Lakes sighting some gators I didn't do much really. Armed with a lot of great books my favorite past time was just read alongside the Rapti river and enjoy some beautiful sunsets : )))))
It was really the perfect way to get away from it all, before I got back to the dusty, noisy Kathmandu where hopefully non of the crazy rickshaws nor the kamikaze bikers will kill me before I'm off to Bhutan and jump into the next adventure.
Take care and don't forget to write me!
I hope you will like the pics!
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Helló!
Ezúttal szeretnék Kellemes Karácsonyi Ünnepeket és Boldog Új Évet Kívánni!
Én Nepál déli részét a Terai-t látogattam meg az ünnepek alatt és a Royal Chitwan Nemzeti Park-ban töltöttem a Karácsonyt és Szilvesztert. Meg akartam ismerkedni az itteni élővilággal, flórával, faunával s ez nagyjából sikerült is. Második éjszakámon testközelből is megismerkedhettem az élővilággal egy rágcsáló képében, ki pofátlanul rákapott a fogason logó zacskóban levő banánjaimra... én, mint ahogy ez szokás ilyen esetben megfordultam és próbáltam visszaaludni, gondolván a rágcsáló majd jól lakik és elunja a neszezést. Ez nem így történt és a dög csak neszezett tovább. itt válaszút elé állitott. Vagy hallgatom egész éjjelen át a rágcsáló csámcsogását, vagy megmutatom ki az úr a házban... Persze itt latolgatni kellett, mert egy riadt állatnál soha nem lehet tudni, és ha megharap, akkor mászkálhatok veszettség elleni oltásért (s amilyen szerencsém van valószínűleg Kathmanduban van a legközelebbi oltóhely...) türelmem nem lévén úgy döntöttem nem hagyom magam, és nehogy már egy egér ne hagyjon aludni... Felkapcsoltam a villanyt. A neszezés a nylon zacsiban abbamaradt. Persze ezzel a trükkel még Miki egérnek sem dőltem volna be öt évesen, így óvatosan megpöckölöm a szatyor alját, s szembe találom magam egy 15 cm-nyi patkánnyal. Méregetjük egymást tisztes távolból (kb. egy méter) a rágcsáló úgy dönt, nem vagyok veszélyes számára, s már visszaindulna a zacsiba a banánok felé, amikor is fenyegető mozdulatom következtében mégis meggondolja magát s a menekülés útvonalat tervezgeti. Egyetlen útvonal lehetséges, az pedig az ágyamon keresztül valósítható meg... a dög méreget... mivel semmi kedvem oltásért Kathmanduba látogatni úgy döntök, engedek kis szabadteret a mostanra már riadt állatnak. az kihasználva azt, hogy félrehúzódom, átrohan az ágyon és nagy nehezen kipréseli magát a lyukon, melyen jött. A következő nap Bob, a kanadai szomszédom mondta, hogy őt is meglátogatta a patkány valamivel utánam... kiraktam az asztalra egy banánt gondolván, hogy ha visszajön, a patkány tudjam, hogy nem vagyok egyedül a szobámban... Persze következő nap Szenteste lévén meghívást kaptunk egy társaságtól vacsorára, ahol bealapoztunk valami iszonyat tré borral. Eleinte gyorsan ittunk úgy gondolván, ha gyorsan becsiccsentünk nem vesszük észre milyen sz..rt iszunk ráadásul a társaság is elég bizarr volt. egy nemet " filmproducer" ( inkább csak egy német pothead aki kamerával rendelkezik...) Szentestén egy égi temetésről készített filmmel szórakoztatott bennünket s az asztalt egy karácsonyfának feldíszített cserepes marihuána díszítette.... ( az égi temetés Tibeti hagyomány. a halottaikat kirakják a madaraknak, de elotte baltaval miszlikbe apritjak es osszetorik a csontjait hogy a madarak ne hagyjanak semmi maradekot. a test igy felszall a egbe.... A film közvetlen közelről mutatta be a tetem sorsát..... )
Miután eléggé alaposan sikerült elázni, szobámba érvén egyből ágyba bújtam anélkül, hogy megnéztem volna az asztalon hagyott banánt. Ha megnéztem volna, lehet, hogy nem sikítottam volna akkorát.... miután betakaróztam a patkány átsprintelt rajtam..... De mivel nem néztem a banánt... Sikítottam.
Bob kacagva kérdezte a szomszéd szobából Mi van ?csak nem patkány????
Villany fel ! És néztem a szánalmas showt ahogy a dög megpróbált kiférni az ajtó alatt, de nem bírt... Nana, telezabalta magát a banánommal! Próbálkozás, ágy alá bujás majd még egy próbálkozás... persze aki telezabálja magát banánnal az így jár... az 5ik próbálkozás sikerrel járt es így lekapcsolhattam a villanyt. Meg hogy néhány jó könyv társaságában a természet lágy ölén....Boldog Patkácsonyt!
Persze most joggal kérdezgetheti az épeszű olvasó mi a francot keresek én karácsonykor egy patkány társaságában....
Nos, a patkány epizód ellenére Sauraha a kedvenc helyem Nepálban. Reggelente kimegyek a folyópartra, és bámulom, ahogy az elefántokat fürdetik a folyóban és egy jó könyvvel kezemben süttetem magam a napon.
A fürdetés bonyodalmas művelete avval kezdődik, hogy az ember lánya megfogja az elefánt két fülét és az ormányra áll, a kedves behemót pedig felemeli a feje fölé ahonnan a fejen keresztül mászva a hátára ül. Nem éppen kecsesen, avagy sikkesen. A Fani begyalogol a vízbe es ormányával lefröcsköli a hátán ülő egyedet, majd játékosan lerázza azt magáról; bele a folyóba. Én úgy gondoltam, hogy a 15 fokos levegő ( a napsütés ellenére) + hideg víz = didergés ( matekból mindig jó voltam) és köszönöm én inkább nézem, hogy szórakozik más...
Miután már mindenki kellőképpen vizes, megkezdődik az elefánt számára igazi móka, a fürdetés. Kövekkel és homokkal dörzsölik be a hatalmas aranyos bőrét, melyet az igazán láthatóan élvez....
A 2. nap után engedtem mindenki rábeszélésére és magam is kipróbáltam a mókát. Fantasztikus leírhatatlan élmény volt...
Karácsony napján elmentem szafarizni elefántháton...
Sohasem hittem a gyalog szafariban... Mindig is úgy tartottam, hogy dzsipből, ló vagy elefánthátról sokkal több mindent lát az ember mintha gyalog indulna neki a dzsungelnek, arról nem beszélve, hogy sokkal veszélytelenebb is.
Nézetem be is igazolódott, miután elindultunk négyen egy kosárban Jumbó hátán az erdőbe. Először egy orrszarvú mamát pillantottunk meg amint legelészett több mázsás kicsinyével békésen az elefántunkat méterekre engedve maghoz... sem autóval, sem lóháton nem jöhettünk volna ilyen közel ezekhez a bestiákhoz... arról nem is beszélve, hogy gyalog ez mennyire veszélyes ( a mai napig előttem van, amikor Afrikában megkergetett két orrszarvú. Akkor lóháton szafariztam, és igazán félelmetesek tudnak lenni ezek a békésen legelésző állatok, amikor hihetetlen gyorsasággal az ember után iramodnak...)
a Szilvesztert egy vadaszlesen toltottem az erdoben hallgatva a vadallatok neszezeset, egyedul de megsem : )
csonakaztam a 20000 Tavak nevu hely egyik tavan, lattam par krokodilt es rengeteg madarat, de legjobban a naplementeket elveztem ahogy minden nap mas szinnel festettek at a sugarak a paradus levegot.
ezek utan sokkolo hatasu volt visszaterni a poros, koszos zajos Kathmanduba, hol remelhetoleg sem az orult motorosok, sem a kamikaze riksasok nem vegeznek velem mielott tovabballnek... remelem tetszeni fognak a fotok
BUEK!!!!



Felices Fiestas! Espero que paseis Unas Navidades estupendas y que vuestros deseos y suenos se cumplan en el ano proximo!
Yo pasare las Fiestas en el Terai (el parte del sur de Nepal) en un parque de safari acompanada con libros y animales salvajes. Es una epoca ideal para descansar y leer un poco antes de sumergir me en la cultura India ( a lo qual me intimida un poco)
Me lo he



Additional photos below
Photos: 87, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.452s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 26; qc: 140; dbt: 0.1841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb