October 16-17: Cho La Pass & Gokyo Ri & Renjo Pass


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
October 29th 2018
Published: November 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

October 16th - Cho La Pass - Dia 117
Slept really good in the Sherpa Dorm,warmer then usual due to the amount of people in one room ?.
Waking up and having my usual milk tea we started up towards the pass. I had the hardest time with this pass, walking every day was starting to get to me. This pass was also the most involved in which we had to cross a small glacier. Again we started a bit later then everyone else but managed to get ahead of them as the hike went on. I had special trouble catching my breath in certain sections but was glad that I had no headache or nausea.
Finishing by evening we stayed in a small village called Dragnag for the rest of the day. Well deserved rest and I enjoyed it greatly. The sun was strong and it was a warm afternoon. I decided to wash all my clothes next to a small river and lay under the sun enjoying the warmth. So good! The sun and warmth was so intense I decided to even take a shower myself next to the river. First shower of the hike and it felt good ?.
Really enjoyable relaxing evening.

October 17th - Gokyo Ri and Renjo Pass - Dia 118
Intense day now that I think about it. Definetly felt as the hardest due to all the amount of stuff I fit in a single day. For no apparent reason I decided to summit Gokyo Ri mountain (5357m) and go up through Renjo Pass (5345m).
Finishing it up sleeping in a town on the other side called Lungdghen (4380). So essentially a lot of going up and down today.
So worth it now that I think about it. A good challenge.. . With of course beautiful landscapes all the time.
In the mountain Gokyo Ri and for the first stretch up the Pass I had some stellar views of the little town of Gokyo situated next to a pristine glacier lake. The pictures I took actually do justice to how it looked like ☺️.
For the pass I was huffing and puffing and was quite low in energy because of the lack of food but I managed to make it to the top.
Going down to the town of Lungdghen took much longer then I expected...around 3 hours. But wow were the new landscapes pretty. With time in our hands Valaran and I took a good 10min nap halfway down to replenish our energy. Laying on grass we amazingly fell asleep under the sun jajaja. Luckily for us the town, even though we arrived late in the evening,  was unoccupied and finding a room was no problemo.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb