Day 40 - Leaving Barauli, mountain roads to Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
August 28th 2015
Published: August 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 40 - Leaving Barauli, mountain roads to Pokhara

Anna and I had an early night last night, both in bed for about 10.30pm. We have the alarm set for 6.15am. We need to have our bags ready, bill paid, and breakfast completed by 7am, ready to meet with Anu. We are leaving at 8am for the long drive to Pokhara. We are expecting the drive to take about 6 or 7 hours. Anu explained that due to the monsoon rains, the mountain roads are a slow, difficult drive, this is why the time frame is very flexible.

We set off in good time. All jobs done. Anna and I just split the bill between us. We were both very pleasantly shocked at the cost! We have been there for two days and nights. So, for all our food, drinks, and the cycling tour..... Everything....
We paid £12.80 / €17.50 each! Neither of us could believe it! So we didn't even check it... Just happily paid our bill!

As we left the village, with Ravi back in the driving seat, it was really nice to receive a parting flower, and a Namaste from a small group of the ladies who have been feeding us. That's a nice way to leave a lovely, tranquil place!

The roads out, are very much the same as the roads in. I can only write it so many times, you'll get fed up of reading it! I will tell you just once more! It is lush, green fertile land, and the scenery shows that, in all directions. The majority of the houses are pretty, colourful and well looked after, with some of the garden flowers in bloom. The intermittent towns and villages are more dusty, mostly due to work that is being done to upgrade the road system, or for new houses, and renovation work being done. Unless it changes, I'll say no more about it! Lol

I'm sat here, just daydreaming as we drive along! First thought; the Indian/Nepalese haulage trucks, I notice the trucks due to my connection with haulage. My Dad was in haulage business for many years, I'm sure he cared about his lorries. He didn't actually have names for then, but called them by the registration plate. I'd often hear him say to my Mum, "LKH needs attention." Or something similar. He had a funny kind of affectionate them.

So, looking at the lorries, thinking about my Dad, and bearing in mind, I was daydreaming! ..........
The windscreen of most of the lorries are colourfully decorated, and split in two halves; this makes them appear like two eyes. Often displaying flowers, or coloured tassels, the fluttering eye lashes. They are mostly TATA lorries, the name, and badge emblazoned in the centre front, like a nose. Then just below that is the grill of the engine, also brightly painted, the mouth. Then the two headlights balanced equally at the sides, the dimples. All the different colours and patterns around the face are like the make up of a female. The artwork, and the written messages all over, and around the body. It's like the fashionable finishing touches to a well dressed lady! Then the final messages on the rear end, a women nearly always had the last parting word! Maybe my mind is wandering a bit, but for all those reasons, it makes me happy to watch the lorries rolling by!
My second thought, not so in depth, the Nepalese drive on the left, same as us! And I've only just noticed!

Back to reality! The hill climbs through the mountains have started. Eeeekk, note to self don't look over the edge, it's unnerving! Not to mention the amount of traffic, the roads don't look wide enough for the traffic to pass. Yet with the skill of Ravi, our driver, we always get by! I would never dare overtake on these roads...lol

At 9.30, we stop in a line of traffic, people leave their vehicles for a bit of fresh air, or a stretch of the legs, but this is going to be quite a wait. There is a lot of repair work on the roads. 9.55, and we are off again!

We stopped at Bohrle Bridge for a photo stop. I couldn't see it at first, but once we got down the steps.... Wow, it was well worth the effort, being able to view up, and down the river from the centre of the suspension bridge.

I'm sat in the front seat of the minibus now, so I can take photos! I'm watching Ravi driving, I come to the conclusion that this driving/horn blowing system works well! Everyone knows what each other is going to do! I can see it, you blow your horn, he waves you on, then gives you the time and space to pass! It makes perfect sense, or have I been in Asia too long? .. Lol

We pass through many towns/villages in the middle of a mountain. They are busy and thriving, like any town. I'm just surprised to see it! In fact, there is lots of busy pockets of life/dwellings/businesses dotted along the route of the mountains.

11.20am, Pokhara 64k!

We stop for lunch at a pretty restaurant, but due to having the very filling, and enjoyable breakfast of muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit and honey, I'm not so hungry! I order masala French fries as a snack! I would like a cold ice cream coffee, but they don't sell them here. Anu advised me to wait, he will get us good cold coffee!

We set off again, 10 minutes along the road, we stop.....
OMG.... Anu.... It's the Nepalese equivalent to Costa Coffee! I got a Mocha Coffee Cooler. For the next ten minutes ... I love you Anu.... The second best optional activity on the trip! (The wet cycle ride being no. 1) I am one very happy female right now! I don't want my coffee to end, but sadly it did, and my love for Anu also faded back to realistic levels... Lol

We arrived safely at the hotel. The first job was to have the orientation walk with Anu. He left us at Fewa Lake, from there, the four of us went on a shopping mission ..... We all got the shops running.... Loved it! There hasn't been much opportunity for shopping so far. This was our first chance! We did take a short break for a cold drink!

For our evening meal we are going to The Sisterhood of Survivors. This is a GAdventure/Planeterra sponsored project. When we arrived the girls gave us a demonstration on how to make momos, a typical Nepalese food. Then we also had a try at making them. We were served a traditional Nepalese Thali meal, which was followed by a presentation about the project. It was very interesting, I was completely ignorant to the problems of human trafficking that these girls face. It is such. A good cause, offering survivors the education and skills to help themselves, and also help others. Very impressed with GAdventures and Planeterra... Again!

The rain came. It is torrential! So straight back to the hotel for an early night. As we are up at 3.30 for the sunrise in the morning ..... Hopeful!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb