Day 4 Ghandruk - Naya Pul - Pokhara - Circuit Complete!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
April 5th 2012
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Was supposed to sleep in till 7AM today and of course, I couldn't. I hate that. I was up by 6:15. Nabin came to get us at 7:00 and we went to take pictures of Annapurna South from the other end of Ghandruk where the view was amazing. I have never seen a mountain like this one. I have never seen anything like the Himalayas, and I've seen a fair number of mountains! We were taking pictures next to a hotel and there were two young girls who lived in the hotel with their family. They must own it. I got some great pictures of the little girls.

After we took pictures we stopped at the Old Ghandruk Museum (75NPR) which is small, but has quite a collection of artifacts. There are two museums in Ghandruk, but we only visited this one. I'm pretty sure neither of these museums makes much money, but it was interesting and worth a visit.

After a really good breakfast of porrige with fruit and a lemon pancake, we set off for NayaPul at 8:45. Today's trek was mostly downhill or flat, for which I was grateful, although my calves were still protesting from yesterday's downhill trek. We made good time and weren't in any big hurry to get to NayaPul, but I'm glad we got there when we did. We had a really good lunch of momo and a giant spring roll, but while we were eating the clouds began to gather and it began to thunder. We made it to the taxi when it started to sprinkle, and after a 1 1/2 hour taxi ride, we were back in Pokhara. Nabin took a little nap in the taxi. You'll see in the pictures.

More beautiful scenery today, more rhododendruns, more cute dogs, and more fun with Nabin and Madhur. But back in Pokhara means back to Hotel Yeti. Once again, I cannot recommend this hotel. No hot water in the evening again. We had dinner at a really nice place and walked around a bit, but it was raining a lot so it was hard to enjoy the shops. And I wasn't shopping anyway. Just looking at all the beautiful things and trying to decide what to buy when I return to Kathmandu.

This four day trek is one of the best experiences I have ever had. I think the combination of the people I was with and the beautiful scenery and just the whole atmosphere of Nepal made this such a great experience.

Two more days in Nepal. Back to Kathmandu tomorrow. Little did Megan and I know all the waiting that is in store for us tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Nepali GirlsNepali Girls
Nepali Girls

The girl in blue is doing her school work.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb