Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
October 3rd 2008
Published: October 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy lady spinning wool.Happy lady spinning wool.Happy lady spinning wool.

She wasn't so happy when I didnt want to give her money so I caved in the end. I was worth it.
Nepal was a good break from India but it was during the rainy season so I didn't get to see much of the mountains. I crossed the border and booked a bus to Pokhara in hopes of doing some hiking on the Annapurna Range, it was there I met these 7 Indian guys who insisted on taking me with them in the bus they had rented. I tried to tell them I had bought a bus ticket but they would not give up. In the end they ripped up my bus ticket, having no other option I joined them on the 6 hour van journey to Pokhara. I think that I was along for the ride more for their amusement then my own cause the whole time they would try to make me sing songs in hindi and tell me to say things to others in the van which would normally end in the whole van laughing at me (good fun).. Somehow in the process I was adopted by this group and the spoiled by them. I was not allowed to pay for anything and if I did I was told off like I was a little kid. This went on
These guys were a trip!!These guys were a trip!!These guys were a trip!!

Holy men at Pashupatinath Temple
for 3 days and we all had a great time I think more them then me some of the times. There are many more stories that follow this group but I will have to tell them in person Cause I don't think they are fit for the blog.....

While I was in Nepal I tried to book a hiking but the weather was so bad that I thought it would be a waste of time and money. In the 4 days I was in view of the Annapurna range I was able to see one of the peaks for a total of 4 min. It was so sad. So I moved on to Kathmandu which is both everything and nothing like I expected it to be. I spent a few days wandering the streets looking at all the shops upon shops and eating lots of Momo's. I love momo's ( small steamed dumpling you can buy on the street just about everywhere). Then I toured all the sights in the greater Kathmandu area which was a lot to take in but good fun.

Then Back to India to meet up with Jack and Molly!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bus stopBus stop
Bus stop

There is always something interesting to see or eat at a Asian bust stop..
You have to keep you eyes on these guys..You have to keep you eyes on these guys..
You have to keep you eyes on these guys..

they will run off with just about anything.
Swayambhunath Stupa Swayambhunath Stupa
Swayambhunath Stupa

Otherwise known as the 'Monkey Temple'


14th October 2008

Fav
This is one of my favorite entries so far. I love the prayer flags everywhere

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb