Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara » Sarangkot
July 19th 2012
Published: July 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Woweee....Pokhara is amazing. Very scenic and great for a bit of 'you' time. Arrived yesterday after an 8 hour tourist bus ride, which I have to say was pretty dreadful on the whole . Arriving at a small guest house with dimmed lights and my heart was just going at the speed of light - but turns out 2 days later met some amazing people and got to experience some amazing things. So yesterday evening, I met with 3 of the staff from my volunteer programme for dinner and a bit of Nepali folk dance. Pretty wierd as they were conversing in Nepali, so after like 3 chips and a soda I was done. Got a ride back to the guesthouse on a motorbike - and it was crazily cool! No laws, just beeping when you want to make way...haha a little scary at times, but good... then a 4:30am wake up to see sunrise in the mountains at 5, except for it didn't quite happen as it is the monsoon season and all you can see is fog! So after a good breakfast of eggs, toast and curried potatoes Hari took me on his motorbike around the valley. Visited some temples, some Nepali friends - who I have to say were so hospitable, and the local university, museums etc. Bearing in mind it was chucking it down - eain has not stopped all night or day, even had thunder and lightening! So the guesthouse very kindly lent me a raincoat which was too right! After spending half the day in rain, I went to a Literature lecture with Laxmi , in which we learnt about poetry and 'reading' - have to say they pick up the english very quicckly. After 2 hours in the class, we waited for a bus, meanwhile gotr to tey some street food, which smelt and tasted awesome. Then managed to get on overly packed bus - I mean literally people are hanging out from every corner, nut it was a good experience. Then hit the internet cafe to write this, and now off dor some well deserved kaala chai or dudhiya chai . Tomorrow I start my voluntary programme in the mountain so probably not going to get wi-fi for a while so blog when I can next! Peace out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb