Day #8 - Namche Acclimtisation Day (Pt 1)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Namche
November 23rd 2012
Published: November 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Although today is a “rest day” in the trek itinerary, it is far from it. Dirge our guide leader has planned a 450m ascent upto the high point of Namche and beyond for what he tells us will be impressive views. It is to aid our acclimitisation – there are no complaints.

In a bid to avert dehydration issues, I ask one of our guides to top up my camelback water bag and both my ½ litre bottles. Unfortunately he topped them up with the remains of the boiled water we had used for the morning wash – so now my drinking water for the day was warm! Oh well, I had the best part of 4 litres of it so it would have to do.

Feeling great I headed out of the lodge and followed the lead guide through the cobbled streets and up the hill out of Namche. After some 20 minutes and a gain of around 100m altitude to somewhere close to 3500m (11,500 ft) we had great views of Namche itself and the valley beyond.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb