Back to Lukla


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Lukla
November 14th 2012
Published: March 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Tengboche we take the steep steps and pathways down through the rhododendron forests knarled curled trunks. The section between Tengboche and Namche seems to be a busy point on the trail and we pass a fair number of other trekkers on the way. I do not envy them the steep uphill and a few trekkers I can see are having problems on the downhill. We arrive at Namche and stay one further night at the the Zamling continuing on to Monjo the following night then back to Lukla.

Having seen very little of Lukla on arrival I now had a chance to explore slightly more. It is larger and noisier than the other villages on the trek so I am glad to only be staying one night here, although my accommodation is predictably more luxurious including on suite bathroom and balcony! I treat Suriya, Azay and myself to a few beers (the first alcohol of the trek for me) and we have our last meal together which feels great as every other meal along the way has been eaten separately. As the trek ends it now feels that we are all friends not just guide and client. I have the tips already arranged and Suriya kindly presents me with some sort of liquor and a white silk scarf. We join in the good atmosphere at the bar of our lodge which is full of trekkers returning successfully from their treks so everyone else is having their final celebratory dinner too. We have a good laugh and I go to bed with the beginnings of a familiar feeling of exhaustion mingled with satisfaction that the trek is complete, we achieved what we set out to do and enjoyed the journey as well as the destination.

Sitting on my bed in my hotel room in Lukla writing my journal I conclude that now, having done the Annapurna Circuit and Everest Base Camp treks, that I will not return to Nepal. As I write this I have the strange feeling that this may not be how I will feel in a few months time.... As I write this 4 months later I am already toying with the idea of the next trek. Nepal is a unique and wonderful country, the Himalayas are spectacular and the need to see and be close to these massive peaks is an addiction which is difficult to feed elsewhere. I think I will be back, just got to chose the trek..... watch this space!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb