Vibrant, Historic, Chaotic City


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
January 1st 2012
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 27.7029, 85.3182

This is now my 3rd time here but first chance to explore. I'm staying in Thamel which is the main tourist area and is filled with shops selling woolly hats, scarves, jumpers etc for the hills. Millions of felt items, prayer flags, maps, postcards, book shops, tea shops and lots of western restaurants and cafes... What a choice after a month of Garlic Soup, Sherpa Stew and Dal Baht! With no shops to speak of except for Manang and Namche Bazaar, which you could buy essentials for the trekking!

So I've been pretty tired after all my escapades and decided to try and relax for a few days - although it took me at least a day and a half for my body to actually heat up again! It's been so incredibly cold - it's a struggle to even bother get changed out of my thermals! Explore I must though while I am here.


I've been a wander round Thamel a few times now and I'm starting to get my bearings - I have been out to Durbar Square, the Old Town, Swayambunath, Boudhanath, Patan's Durbar Square and even out to Braktapur. The old
Durbar SquareDurbar SquareDurbar Square

I love this building
town has millions of fruit and veg stalls which provide an amazing onslaught on the senses - all the colours and the bustle and noise - mixed with the temples on every corner. I'm impressed by the amount of traffic this place deals with - motorbikes are everywhere!! I love wandering about and jumping local buses out to places - one bus I was on (a wee Suzuki van) had 21 of us in the back of it!! Impressive. The sight seeing is amazing - the temples are something else - I've got so many pictures! Would love to come back here some day to see all the bits I've missed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb