Vegan Confessional


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
January 4th 2015
Published: January 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I am not vegan. I haven't been since we arrived in India on the 7th of December. At first it was a confusion over coffee, where it comes as standard with milk and black coffee wasn't always understoof, but when we arrived in Lucknow Thapar's generosity would have made me feel a complete shit to refuse the food he provided. Porridge made with milk and a unique-to-the-region dish called Nimish (made of dew-evaporated milk) were presented alongside the occasional bit of cottage cheese in the curries. At the retreat, where refusing porridge in the mornings would have left me with only one meal a day, a condition I wasn't willing to endure due to the already freezing situation, I made do with excluding the chai tea and milk puddings as far as I could. Since leaving the retreat I have done the best job possible to remain vegan and have failed to do so a couple of times including the lentil soup I literally just finished, which mentioned nothing of cream in the menu.

It is easy as pissing to be vegetarian in India but veganism is not understood. I will grab back on to the bandwagon as soon as possible.

Advertisement



28th February 2015

Indian blogs
I've just read your blogs on India... we just got back from a one month long trip there and I smiled, nodded and laughed along with your descriptions and adventures. And I agree, it would be near impossible to be vegan in India. Great blogs! :)

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb