Feels good to be back...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
July 15th 2009
Published: July 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone! I hope all is well. I have arrived in Nepal for our first Knowledge for People autism education project (to read more about it go to http://knowledgeforpeople.org and click on the orange visit our blog link on the left). This trip is quite different from other trips I've taken because the main purpose of coming this time is to give back to a community that I fell in love with 8 years ago. I'm anxiously awaiting the arrival of the rest of our team! Dori, Ann Marie, Tanya, Zahida, and Blaine will be here in the next day or two. Before I moved to Seattle, Dori and I worked together for 4 years in Grosse Pointe and little did we know that the next time we would be partners-in-crime would be in Nepal! I'm very excited. Kathmandu is still busy, dirty, and wonderful all at the same time. You have to be really careful not to get hit by cars and motorbikes. I honestly can't believe they allow cars to go down some of the narrow allies.

Tanya arrived yesterday and she's wonderful (we hadn't met before this). She heard about Knowledge for People from an email that I sent to the Autism Society of Oregon. We took it easy and walked around before heading to bed early. This morning we walked to the Swayambhunath Stupa, aka Monkey Temple. Streets are not marked and maps are vague, so it was an interesting adventure. We walked through a village between homes and crop fields on narrow muddy paths. We finally made it to the staircase leading to the temple and were greated by a ton of locals waiting to sell us their goods. During the climb we were surrounded by monkeys. I visited this place last time I was here and I ran out of film taking photos of the monkeys...I'm very thankful for my digital camera because, once again, I felt the need to take a photo of every monkey I saw. You have to be careful because they will try to steal your things or if you get to close they will motion like they are going to jump on you. At the top of the stairs is a huge beautiful stupa that you have to walk around clockwise. The view is incredible, but it was a little hazy because it's monsoon season, so we didn't get to see a ton of mountains. We did get to see all of Kathmandu stretched out before us.

The rest of the crew gets here this evening. We decided to spend their first few days getting acclimated to the culture of Nepal before working with the families because if you haven't been here before it can be quite a culture shock. In the morning we are heading to Chitwan for 2 nights and then we will come back to Kathmandu to start working.

Have a great week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

flip flops?flip flops?
flip flops?

we couldn't figure out why there were flip flops all over the fences


15th July 2009

I love the prayers flags! I'm glad you made it okay! Sounds amazing...and dusty!
15th July 2009

Safe travels
Hi Nikki! So glad you're blogging this trip!! I love hearing about your travels. Be safe, have fun and enjoy the work that you are doing!! Love, Kelly
15th July 2009

Altruism
What a noble purpose...and a fun time, too. Please take many pictures of monkeys for me. I am obsessed with primates. Don't get hit by any motorbikes.
15th July 2009

Awesome
Again, your amazing. Your gonna leave a mark in this world for sure! good luck. I'll be out of town for 11 days, so I'll have a lot of catching up to do on your emails. love you!! have fun, be safe
15th July 2009

Holla!
So good to hear you got there safely! I will be thinking of you on your first big KFP journey! Kisses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15th July 2009

I love all your pictures! It is so wonderful everything has come together for you nikki. I'm extremely jealous of your summer adventures... makes me miss you so much! So excited to see you in Seattle soon : ) Love you!
16th July 2009

Super woman.
Hey Niki. I'm so glad your trip seems to be going well. You always take the best pictures. I hope the rest of your trip is amazing and safe. Call me when you get back so you can tell me all about it and we can chat. I'm super proud of you that you worked so hard and it all finally came through. xoxoxo- Meg
16th July 2009

Nikkilovestotravel
I'm not blog or facebook-friendly (as if you didn't know!) Will work on it next week. Ted and I are leaving for Vickie/Ron's place Friday afternoon. No good i-net or cell service but will take my computer anyway. What would Pop say? Take a break. You got rocks in your head. Think of Gramma smiling at you and rock on!! xox
16th July 2009

Hello!
So glad to hear things are going well! I also love the prayer flags! Watch out for those monkeys!!
16th July 2009

Nikki's back
Hi Nikki, so happy everyone made it safely. It's just such a great thing you are doing, always thinking of helping others. Great pics however the monkeys being everywhere kind of freak me out a little. Give it your all, and be safe. Love Terri
21st July 2009

howdy
Hey Nikki --- How cool what u r doing in Nepal. I lived there for a couple of months many moons ago and loved it as much as u do. Monkeys held me captive on the stairs to the temple and stole my hard boiled eggs. People wonderful, mountains magical. r there still cake shops in Kathmandu? Do u mean Dori Martinuzzi? Take good care, work sounds special, have a wonderful time.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb