I'm here!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 10th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello! I am in here in Nepal, safe and sound. writing this on a very dodgy keyboard so please excuse the typos now!

After a somewhat eventful outogoing journey, nothing like a bomb scare and airport evacuation to liven up the wait, I somehow made it into Kathmandu on time. I don't know how because we were an hour and half late leaving london, but they thankfully held our connecting flight so we were only about 50 minutes late leaving Doha - had to be a record time for transfer from one plane to another!

Much to my immense relief, my luggage turned up (you have to see Kathmandu airport to realise why I was dubious. Its not much bigger than my high school was and strangly looks quite similar in design)

I was also very relieved to find someone from my guest house waiting to pick me up and then had a somewhat heart in mouth car journey from the airport. I get the feeling I am going to have to get used to this. Nepalese people drive like maniacs, people just randomly walk out into the street, noone looks where they're going when they turn, in theory they drive on the left hand side but they seem to spend a significant proportion of their time on the other side as well! I was convinced we were going to hit something on several occassions. And people just beep their horns constantly. I don't know how they know who is beeping their horn and for what reason!

This is the first chance I've had to sit down and write this, plus electricit has been off most of the day.

I have met several volunteers already, I joined in a cultural class with a couple of american guys who were leaving today for their placement. Had a lunch with a couple of New Zealand medical students and off out this evening with a load more med students they have met at the hospital. Can't escape medics, doesn't matter where I go! I've had approximately 3 hours sleep since I left home, don't know how I'm still awake!

The guys at hope and home have been great, they've shown me round the tourist area of town and I start my proper induction tomorrow. It is very hot here, apparently it is even hotter in Chitwan where I'm off to later this week. Not sure how I'll survive at this rate! Kathmanudu is an unbelievable city, a world away from what I'm used to england. Will write more in a couple of days once I've had chance to explore a bit more!

speak to you all soon

Jodie





Advertisement



10th April 2009

Glad to hear from you and that you have arrived safe and sound. Dad said they would probably hold your connecting flight. It sounds like you may need to buy some more sun tan cream, if it's that hot. Stay safe and enjoy your trip. Mom, Dad and Scott

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb