managing a didi


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
December 18th 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sita, my didi, was on call for me all day. Kind of awkward for me, since I never had house help before and am not good at giving orders (to anyone other than Ken). She showed up around 10am ready to accompany me to Bhat Bhateni to help me shop for all of the necessities—rice, lentils, cumin, tumeric, potatoes, garlic, etc. She speaks no English, so she basically would point at things she thought I needed and I would say okay. We bought enough vegetables to give me enough to eat for a week, all for about $5. I even bought expensive rice and sunflower oil, and still the total bill for everything I need for the house (dish soap, laundry soap), spices, rice, various lentils, organic Nepali honey, bread, and veggies was only around $40.

When we got back Sita went straight to work making my lunch. She fried up tofu with tomatoes and chilis that was delicious, and also made spinach, and dhal bhaat. She made enough for me to eat probably 2 more meals. She then immediately washed all of the pots and dishes. Then she went up to the roof to wash my clothes in a bucket and hung them on the line to dry. Afterwards she came back and swept the apartment with a handmade broom and washed the kitchen/dining room floor.

Now’s she back to make dinner—tarkari (vegetables). I’m having potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and onion, probably cooked in a variety of delicious spices. And I won’t even have to clean the pots afterwards! All I’ve been doing is making my own tea. And to think I’m paying her about $50 per month to do this 3 days per week—and that’s on the high end! I’m going to be so spoiled when I go home. Having a didi makes life so easy!

Beejay delivered my desk this afternoon, so hopefully that will be the end of my back pain since I don’t have to hunch over a coffee table anymore. Internet still needs to be set up, hopefully tomorrow. I took a shower tonight and was pleasantly surprised to actually by scalded by it the water was so hot. And great water pressure, too! It’s amazing what you learn to appreciate when living under these conditions. I’m still figuring out the best ways to keep warm; today I bought gloves with the tips of the fingers cut off so that I can keep my hands warm but still do work. It’s hard to type otherwise. I have an electric heater, but you have to be sitting right next to it to benefit from it.

In other news, a college that could potentially offer me my dream job contacted me! The position is a dual appointment in psychology and women’s studies, and it’s smack in the middle between Providence and Boston. I was told I made the psychology short list of 3 people, now my application goes to Women’s Studies. I am soooo excited!


Advertisement



21st December 2007

didi for me!!
WE WANT A DIDI! WE WANT A DIDI! WE WANT A .... ETC.

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 4; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb