Day 42 - Pokhara to Kathmandu, the last supper


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
August 30th 2015
Published: August 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 42 - Travelling from Pokhara to Kathmandu

I got up at 4.15, all packed and ready to go, not no, it's still raining, so no sunrise again. Aw well, we did try! Back to bed until seven.

I missed the get together again last night! I do seem to make a habit of it! Getting back from Busy Bees wasn't easy! It was torrential rain and pitch black. I was stone cold sober, having been on water all night due to having a few dizzy spells today!

Can't be bothered with the long story,we were all, plus an extra 2, going back to the hotel for an extended get together! but the taxi driver either didn't understand us, or just didn't listen, but he went the completely wrong way, irrelevant of our shouting, "no", at him. Anu got really anxious because we went the wrong way. It got a bit fractious, then the get together was cancelled!

We all finally got back to the hotel, as the get together was cancelled, I went straight to bed.

Anna was out most of the night, then I found out this morning that they all got together as planned, just didn't think to tell me! Never mind, Its not the first, but probably will be the last one I miss on this trip!

So, back to today! Second get up at 7am. I got toast marmalade to take with me. I know that I would not be happy with myself if I had to go without my breakfast!

We all get on the bus, we set off for Katmandu. It should take us about 6 to 8 hours, weather and traffic dependant. The first stop will be after a couple of hours, that could have been a breakfast stop, but I always get up so hungry so didn't want to take any chances!

We are half an hour into the journey, everyone except me and the driver are hard fast asleep! I so wish I could get comfortable. I left my travel pillow on the bus, thinking it was the best place for it, the driver took it out and left it on the hotel! So now getting comfortable is impossible due to; no pillow, bangs on the head, hard chairs and very bumpy roads!

08.09 - 153k to Kathmandu

We seem to be going back the way we came in at the moment. We just passed the extremely good coffee shop that we stopped at on the way in! I know Anu told us that we are stopping at the same place we stopped at for lunch, the one with the pretty gardens, but there it is, we've just gone passed it! Ravi did try to wake Anu, bit don't think he was fully conversant! Hmmmm... Maybe because everyone, except me, is sleeping there is a change of plan! It's a bloody good job I had my toast earlier!

We have a quick toilet stop instead... With a very clear sign... Urination 3rs, Deification 5rs. I can't believe you would have to pay for which business you performed! .... I went in with my purse, with enough change for any, or all, eventuality, but there was nowhere to leave your money!

Oh... That looks nasty! A lorry has gone over he edge of the mountain! It's rear end hanging down, and the front wheels look like the are gripping on for life! The driver of this vehicle has been so lucky. There are many people working together to unload the contents of the load. It looks like sacks of rice. It does look like it could be towed from the edge to safety, once it is emptied.

9.04 107k to Katmandu

The boredom of a bus full of sleeping people finally gets to me, and I find a position that I can get to sleep in without a pillow, I just start to doze, then we stop for a drink. It is a welcome cup of tea, I think I could have eaten some omelette and toast, but everyone is suffering from last night, so decide not to hold up the proceedings!

The restaurant has, as always in the mountains, the most beautiful view.

10.24 72k to Katmandu

I'm not taking any scenic photos, although it's beautiful, it is more of what I took pictures of on the way here!

I am definitely going to try to join the 'sleep' club, it will help the journey pass.

Well I passed an hour! I wasn't sleeping, more like dozing. It is such an bumpy, and winding road, but I'm definitely relaxing, and passing time with my own thoughts!

Not sure where we are; it is 12.05, so must be getting close to Katmandu. We pass a row of kids marching along the road, dressed up in what looks like national costume. They have the full headdresses and make up on. Parents and onlookers are happily taking photos of their kids. Further down the road, the drums are beating, the streets are lined with people. They seem to be waiting for a passing parade. I tried to take photos of the kids, but with so much passing traffic, it was impossible!

As we get further along the road, the buildings become far more dense, with now virtually no countryside. The noise of the traffic increases, the roads double in width, I can only conclude that we are approaching Katmandu.

When we arrive, our first stop is the Monkey Temple, (Swayambhu Temple) this temple has lot of stupas of varying shapes and sizes, they are used for worship by the Tibetan Buddhists, and visitors to the temple. The name, Monkey Temple' is given for the amount of monkeys there, there are so many!

We return to the minibus to continue driving for 15 minutes until we arrive at the next hotel. This will be our final night on the tour, and with Anu.

My first thoughts were, thank goodness for air con. After the last hotel where nothing worked, this is a blessing! I hope it's not the same intermittent electricity as in Pokhara!

I take 15 minutes to arrange my next hotel for when we finish the tour.? I will spend 2 days here in the centre of Thamel, where it is buzzing with tourists and shops, then the last 3 nights I will move out a bit to Shankar Palace.... A bit of self TLC! ... Before going home!

We settle into our rooms, then all four of us meet to go for lunch. We get directions from Anu to go to the museum. We intend to drop off for lunch on the way. We stumbled across a restaurant, Fire and Ice, it is a pizza place, and an ice cream parlour. It is heaving! So, so busy! It's a bit of a modern culture shock for all of us. I'd forgotten what a busy western looking restaurant looked like! I then catch sight of a pizza....its HUGE! I'm pleased I'm sharing with Lisa! The food was amazing!

Lisa, Bernie and I set off for the museum, Anna went back to the hotel. Say the museum was closed, so we agree that we will go again tomorrow. On the return walk, we hit the shops again, this time it is for shoes! I have bought 2 pair of the colourful pointy toe flats, a bit of a novelty as they are not the good quality ones, but I'm happy with them!

We return to the hotel for a shower and a rest before going out for our final evening meal with Anu. I put the news on the TV to find out that the parade I saw earlier was the Gai Jatre which is a yearly celebration of remembrance of loved ones passed. This is more special this year as it also remembers the 9000 list in the recent earthquakes.

We arrive at Kilroy's of Katmandu. The first thing that I noticed is the Irish sense of humour that is threaded through the menu descriptions.

The food was really good tonight, but we all had so much lunch that none of us could eat it all! It was really nice that at the end of the meal, the owner came over and joined us for a chat.... Nice touch!

We returned to our hotel for a final last drink before parting company!

Although we will meet for breakfast on the morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb