Taking the long way home.......


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
December 14th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is a blog I never expected to be writing.......believe it or not, we are on our way home (four months into our 10 month trip). I have had some unexpected issues to deal with in Vancouver which has meant I need to come home for a couple/three weeks. I am still in shock but I am adjusting towards being really excited to see everyone!!!!!

I am sad because it has meant the cancellation of our 11 day trek, a trek that was only hours away from beginning - as a matter of fact, if I had not gotten food poisoning, I would have been deep in the Himalyas...... a huge dream of mine. However, my cats would have been history. I have faith that I will make it back to the Himalayas. For now though, we start our long journey home. One plane down and only three more to go, it will take us a week to get there . Man, we were really far away! It is easy to forget how far from home you are when you have done it in such small steps along the way. Small steps being a relative term, we have done about 500km at a time.

So far we have been to 7 countries and 3 continents. We have travelled over 7000 km overland across Africa by broken down bus, crazy taxi, sinking boats and really noisy trains - hounded by touts the entire way - it was all amazing!!

I guess it will be a nice thing to be able to be at home for a couple weeks and collect my thoughts on the trip so far. I didn't expect it, but sometimes the greatest gifts lie within the unexpected.........

So.........get ready because we are so excited to see each and every one of you!!

No better time for this to have happened than Christmas!

See you December 20th! HO HO HO



Love Heide and Jordan
xo


PS: I know it's been a long time since I was in Vancouver, so remember, my phone number is: 437-9775

PPS: These are not our photos, although they would have been had we made it to our trek. I will be adding our photos to our Nepal blog when we get home....too much travelling to do until then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



13th December 2006

wonderful surprises have got to come from any difficulty in your path...
I am verrry sad when I read this blog....Heide, I know how much you were looking forward to being in Nepal... But I just know that because it always seems to happen this way for you~~ that whatever difficulties arise, something amazing happens through it....(falling into a pile of crap and coming out smelling like roses???) ;) I can't wait to see you guys Love Pam
14th December 2006

Welcome home Heide and Jordan
Look forward to seeing you for Xmas.....a place has already been set for you both at our table.... HO HO HO

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb