Day #3 - I have groupies


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
November 18th 2012
Published: November 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What are the odds that all those on the trek with me are all Australians – and 6 of them! As the sole “Pom” on the trek I will have to do my utmost to mention the Olympics and Rugby as many times as I can. They seem a nice bunch and I am not the oldest either!

Dirge, our Nepalese Guide introduced himself to our group. I feel in good hands given his 32 years of experience as a guide and having climb many of the mountains in Nepal over 6000m. We plodded up stairs to a rather dark room and he briefed us on the trek ahead. Most of the information I already knew, have read up on it all many times. The most interesting announcement was that he didnt recommend having a shower any higher up than Namche Bazarre, to avoid getting ill due to the cold. That works out about 1 week without a shower!!

We have also been issued with our kit bag, sleeping bag and red down jacket for the evenings. In my kit bag was some kind of floral garment, which I mistook for a dress - it turned out to be the sleeping bag liner!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb