Movie night Nepal style


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
May 14th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey there sports fans how goes is it in the rest of the world ? This is a bonus update to my regular travel blog. I thought I would share with you the adventure I had today when I wanted to something as simple as go to the movies.

As some of you know I not only believe life is one big adventure but I also believe it is made up of lots of little ones.

It all started when I noticed in the paper that Iron Ma 2 is playing in the local theaters here in Kathmandu. I decided I would go and see what a foreign theatre looked like. So after breakfast I started to plan my litte excursion.

I started by taking my local map and the newspaper advertising the movies to the front desk of the guest house I am staying at. Now some of you are probably saying "why not look in the Lonely Planet" Let it be known I HATE the lonely planet with a passion. Too many people on my last trip were using it as the bible for everything they did. If it wasn't in the book then they didn't believe or do it. My theory is, stick your head out every now and then, meet the locals, try the food, see the sights as they happen. Sorry about that I got off on a rant but I really do have a different outlook on travelling.

Anyways, the people at the front desk could not help me so I turned to my friend Google Maps and printed out a map. It looked like an easy walk (4 km) so I packed a small bag with water, toilet paper (never go anywhere without a roll) and my map and off I went.

It turned out it was easy to find my way for the first 2 km's as I had travelled this way the day before, after that it got a little dicey as there are no street signs here.

I left early so I had plenty of time, 1 hour, to get to the theater. On the way there I passed this very high walled compound with lots of Nepalise police outside. I managed to figure out it was the US embassy. Why is it the US embassy needs so much protection? Don't answer that.

Anyways the soldiers caught my eye as the weapons they were holding were the same as the ones I usd when I joined the army in 1985. What a flashback that was.

After making a few wrong turns and ending up deep inside a residential area I manged to get on what I though was the right road, but it kept getting farther and farther away from town. I kept going and all of a sudden WHAM. There was a 5 story shopping mall in front of me. Where the heck did that come from? As some of you may know I have been curious about the shopping in these countries. All we ever see are these little 1 man shops packed tight beside each other. It felt really strange to see a 5 storie shopping center.

Anyways this was were the theatre was. You should have seen the look on the ticket persons face when I walk up and ask for one ticket in the platinum section for Iron Man 2. It cost 300 rupee which is just over $4. Funny thing is you pay outside the mall and them walk into the mall and go all the way to the top floor to the theatre.

Now there were escalators but only the one between the second and third floors worked the rest you had to walk up. Forget the elevator.

So I get to the theatre and there is six security people outside. You have to go thru a metal detector, have your bags searched and a wand waved over you just like the airport. Definatly not in Kansas.

I got a popcorn and drink for $1.50 and was off to the Platinum section which means the back row.

The movie started after get this, only ONE preview. Now that was cool. Great movie and believe or not they actually had a 10 minute intermission in the middle. Strange but welcome. After the movie me and the 10 other people in the theatre were herded down a back exit, thru a maze of hallways to come out in the middle of a video arcarde complete with Air Hockey.

Once outside the arcade I decided to look around the mall. It had the nrromall amount of clothing stores, cell phone stores and a few stores that sold pirated DVD's including a copy of the movie I just saw for less than $1. Weird. There was also a liqour store and the first grocery store I have seen.

I stopped by the grocery store for a few items and found fresh fruit which I have been craving for the last week. Get this they had Granny Smith apples from of all places Washington State. Cool. I picked up some soup mix and a few other things to replenish my snack bag. Then it was off back to the guest house.

The return journey was a little slower as I stopped to buy a slice of fresh watermelon for me and a kid on the street. I think it cost me $.25 so I didn't even haggle. Dodging traffic was an adventure, 8 lanes and almost no rules other than don't hit anyone. My secret is make myself look really big and make eye contact with all the drivers with that "do you really want to hit me" look on my face. It has worked so far.

Then it was walking the gauntlet of souvenir sellers and stopped off for a nice 12 once steak and a Mt Everest beer and then I am now off to bed.

All that took about 5 hours of my day. Nothing like an adventure within an adventure to make a trip memorable.

Hope everyone is great, sorry no pics but can't take the camera into a theatre.

NAMASTE.

Micke





Advertisement



14th May 2010

Too Funny
So was it supposed to be a 10 minute hike to the movie theatre? Leave it to you to find the longest route to the movies.....You mean you didn't stop to chat up the us guards about their weapons? Sounds like you're enjoying your "adventures"....to heck with the lonely planet, I think it's more fun your way! Stay safe....DD

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb