Bhaktapur - Even better with a guide


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Bhaktapur » Durbar Square
March 25th 2013
Published: April 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a fairly interesting bus ride to Bhaktapur (1100 NRs), we got off the bus less than a block from one of the entrances to the old city. Dru walked with me around the old city, pointing out the significant sights, temples, landmarks and telling me about each one, but not in too much detail. I really appreciated that. I had been here last year, but didn't get an actual tour, so it was great to come back and get more information. There are over 1000 temples in Bhaktapur. This time it was much more lively than it was before. Lots of shops were open, several tourists were roaming around but nothing was crowded. I'd like to say I remember all of what Dru told me about Bhaktapur, but I don't. It is a great place to take pictures. We also visited a Thanka school where I got a good education about thankas and mandelas, but unluckily for them, I already have a really nice thanka and I didn't pay nearly as much as they were asking for one of the same quality. I found out why they were asking so much later. Apparently, the guy that caught me on the street and took me there makes a 50% commission. Wow. They weren't pushy or aggressive and handled my thanks, but no thanks with grace. Pottery square was definitely a highlight. The potters throw hundreds of pots a day, for tourists and for locals, dry them in the sun, and bake them in a huge kiln.

We walked around all morning enjoying the sights, having real filter coffee at Illy, just off the main square, and then our driver picked us up at 1:00. My camera battery died, and so did Dru's, so neither of us got as many pictures as we wanted. It was really great to see more of Bhaktapur, have a proper tour, and spend some time here again.

The drive back to Kathmandu took about an hour and the day was starting to get hot. We were hungry so we went to Dru's restaurant, Huddl House, in Thamel and I had something to eat and relax a bit. I had dinner that evening with Rabi and his family again. I was starting to wonder if he was worried about me eating alone, and I was starting to feel like I was imposing on his generousity. Dinner was another lovely Dal Baht, and he took me back to my hotel on the motorbike, which is always fun.

Tomorrow I have to get up early and leave for Chitwan National Park, the main reason I came to Nepal on this trip. I was a little bit concerned it was going to be very 'touristy' but I was still excited to go there and finally see it and hopefully see a rhinocerous!


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

In the templeIn the temple
In the temple

People touch all three when they leave
More stupasMore stupas
More stupas

Nothing inside...


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb