Hangin' with Genghis in UB


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

my first Mongolian sunsetmy first Mongolian sunsetmy first Mongolian sunset

this is why i love this country
Finally...I'm in Ulaan Bataar!!! Land of togrogs, smiling faces, beautiful weather, and mutton galore. Except for the mutton bit, UB is everything that I'd hoped it to be. =)

After another 2 nights on the train and a grueling 8-hour border stop, we arrived in the city this morning and spent the entire day being "super tourists". We saw a monastery, a former palace, a Mongolian dance/song performance, and most importantly...we tried the local mutton specialties. I did not like mutton before I came to Mongolia, and the fatty/tendon-y bit I ate today has not convinced me otherwise. Lauren, on the other hand, seems to really be enjoying the local cuisine!

The Gandantegchinlen monastery was absolutely gorgeous -- a giant golden Buddha dominating the central temple, beautiful hand-painted wall scrolls, silver prayer wheels around elaborate stupas, and the smell of incense and burning butter lamps everywhere. It was a flashback to the monasteries and temples of Tibet - the similarities are really uncanny -- so of course I fell in love with everything immediately.

Tomorrow is the start of Naadam, Mongolia's biggest festival of the year. According to Lonely Planet, Naadam is "part family reunion, part fair and
me and my mutton kebabme and my mutton kebabme and my mutton kebab

i am smiling only because i haven't actually taken a bite yet
part nomad Olympics". We'll get to see 4 different events: wrestling (the contestants wear a uniform of "heavy boots, tiny tight briefs and open midriff-baring vests"...needless to say, Lauren and I are pretty excited to meet some of these guys...hehe), archery (with arrows made from vulture feathers), horse racing (the jockeys are kids aged 5 to 12!), and anklebone shooting (I'm a bit confused about this event, but apparently the contestants throw a sheep's anklebone at a target...seems very odd to me).

Okay, enough serious stuff. On to the funny pictures... =)




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

my bed is up topmy bed is up top
my bed is up top

notice the harness - that flimsy bit of rope was supposed to protect me from rolling off the top bunk of the train compartment and breaking my neck
Gandantegchinlen KhiidGandantegchinlen Khiid
Gandantegchinlen Khiid

at the monastery...some kind of water ceremony that i don't really understand
a meal on the traina meal on the train
a meal on the train

this is one of our most elaborate meals on the train. this pictures was taken during the first leg of our trip in Russia (not the giant cup of boiled potatoes). since there were no platform vendors on the russia-mongolia route, we had to resort to ramen 3 times a day. yuck...
post-vodka Laurenpost-vodka Lauren
post-vodka Lauren

our Polish neighbors on the train were very generous with their vodka...turns out that Lauren speaks Chinese brilliantly when she's hammered
russian window washingrussian window washing
russian window washing

only in russia would the window washer lady use MUD to "clean" the train windows...


10th July 2006

Awesome!
Hi Jenny - what an awesome blog! I only just got back from my own tour but I have now caught up with all your past entries. Love it!! Have loads of fun, say hi to Lauren, and don't forget about basic office safety. Remember: safety first!! LEX
11th July 2006

ahhh, i'm jealous
i've always wanted to go to mongolia, it must be a blast to see such a different existance.....i can't wait to see all the photos when we see you....i'm not surprised the vodka helped w/ laurens language aquisition...when are you getting back btw? we leave for greece again on 8/1......if we don't see you when you get back, then we'll see you when we get back.....keep having fun
12th July 2006

sunset nights
jenny-sue! (anayanaanna?) that's a sunset worth walking into! looking forward to talking with you after you return (i'll get a number and get in line:)) love.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb