Misuse of my VISA-card in Russia (Ulaan Baatar, Mongolia)


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Day 69 on the road)Great, I just found out that someone must have used a fake copy of my credit card to make cash-withdrawals in Moscow the previous two days! I have left Moscow about a month ago and have the credit card here with me, so I am assuming they must have copied my data and produced a new, fake credit card somehow. But how they got hold of my card-number and PIN, which I have neither told anyone nor written down anywhere, remains a mystery to me.

All in all, there were numerous withdrawals, totaling about 1900 Euro! I have now canceled the credit card, but my bank could not assure me that I will get my money back, which seems up to Visa to decide. It will also take them three (!) weeks to issue a replacement card. All in all, this is just perfect... :-(

Epilogue: The money was finally refunded to me about two months later, and I was very happy that the money was not gone. What I still don't understand however is that Visa's security checks did not pick this fraud up. With so many different withdrawals totaling such a large amount of money in a very short time (over the course of two days), surly the pattern is very different to my usual withdrawal habit? Also, I made cash withdrawals with my real credit card in Mongolia almost at the same time as these fake withdrawals took place in Moscow, so that would have required me to be in two far apart places at the same time. Surely one of these discrepancies or a combination of these two should have alarmed Visa to the misuse? Strange...



To view my photos, have a look at pictures.beiske.com. And to read the full account of my journey, have a look at the complete book about my trip at Amazon (and most other online book shops).




Advertisement



13th June 2008

Shit, but ...
it's only money! But still, very annoying indeed. Try to see the positive experience of the trip. Of course, this might sound odd, but in a few years time back in Germany you will answer this mishap with a smile. P.S.: And think of all the savings not playing golf this year ;-)
17th June 2008

to be continued ...
Ben, I'm very much looking forward hearing more about the VISA topic, preferably with a happy ending. AFP, dpa, sid, Reuters are still lacking coverage of that story. Take care
18th June 2008

holly shit...
Seems you got your credit card being copied (fake copy) but dont understand how did they get your pin out of your head (considering you dont drink....) so could be some pretty lady slipped inside of your head and stole your valuables.. :)) really shout if I can be of any help...
14th July 2008

happened to me too
damage so far: about 15,000 USD. They took 1000 Euro every day for 10 days in Ukraine and Poland. Did you get your money back?
20th October 2008

look upon searching for my visa card
hel ben i have a visa card and i want to check up the money on it.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb