The Dive Files


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, to fill in some time in the islands before work starts (Sunday), I decided that it could be nice to go for my Advanced Open Water Diving Certification. Basically this means I can dive deeper (to 30 metres), navigate underwater, drift dive, night dive etc. The team is pretty crazy on the island (photos to come) - we have a Dane, a Maldivian, a German and 2 Italians - and so you always have a good trip. I have a small confession to make. Tried to do the dive on Friday, however the sea was very rough and for the first time in my life I was not feeling very well at all on the water, so I stayed on the boat and felt very sorry for myself. However, today washed the slate clean: the dive (for those of you fascinated by fish) was beautiful - I had to do some tests first to make sure I wasn't susceptible to 'nitrogen narcosis' - passed the test and on we went. Right at the beginning of the dive we saw a few White Tip Reef Sharks... fortunately not too big - probably a couple of metres long; 3 beautiful Eagle Rays; a sting ray; a blue & white 'painted' lobster; and lots of lots of fishes. I finished the last of my dives today after doing a wreck dive, a navigation dive, a multi level dive and underwater photograpahy and fish identification. A few pics are attached for those fishy fans. Casey, sorry for not organising this with you in Oz but you have to agree the Maldives isn't a bad location for diving!
Cris and I went on a double dive last Friday which was beautiful. We saw lots of sharks, sting rays, a turtle, big painted lobsters, nudebranchs, and more. In between the two dives, we saw a large school of dolphins swimming not far from the boat, so we slowly followed alongside them. At one point one of the dive instructors thought it could be a good idea for us all to jump in and try and snorkel up close to them, so everyone leapt overboard as quickly as they could and started swimming like mad in their direction, but try as we might, they kept us at a safe distance. It was like they were saying, 'catch us if you can'. To cut a long story short, after a hopeful 5-10 mins of snorkelling around, we gave up and got back on the boat and motored off to the next dive. The Maldivians call the dolphin "Father of Peace". So, even if we didn't see them close up in the water, it was a beautiful sight and everyone was happy.
As it rained quite heavily late this week, the mosquitos have come out in force. And they seem to all be looking for me. I have to plaster myself in mosquito repellent before I go anywhere, as I have discovered that the varmints love my blood here as much as anywhere else I go. Apparently the black ones can carry Denghue fever as well... always wanted to play Russian Roulette with itchy bites. Everyone else seems to be safe, so I suppose I could consider this my star contribution to the Maldives...ridding the rest of the population of the problem by letting them feed on me. I have started itching just thinking about it. I am waiting for my mosquito shroud before I venture out onto the beach after dark... just kidding.
Nights are often spent in the bar playing games or chatting with people over a cocktail, or drinking Cris' bottles of NZ Sauvignon Blanc (courtesy of his beverage allowance). The sky is so open and clear here... I suppose there is not too much to pollute it. The food is dangerous - we eat from the buffet in the main restaurant at night so there is a lot of variety and some beautiful food to choose from. Life is tough! More to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



24th May 2007

WOW!
Don't know if I am talking about the fish or the dessert!!!! :) Wish I was there
24th May 2007

Hey Cuz
Love the Blog, so are you living out there now? Might have to come and visit you next year :) All good here. xxx
24th May 2007

jeepers
did you say diving? all i can see if that table of desserts!! anyway - good to hear that you are getting out there and sampling the best of the maldives. I hope that once you get stuck in to work you enjoy it too. keep up the updates!!! (if you get bored and want to read about running training (hmm) http://ellie80.blogspot.com ) much love ellie xxxxx
24th May 2007

Ditto dude but a little less on the nice side
Hey Roch....Tan and I just finished a dive course yesterday as well, in Taganga in the top of Colombia, great diving but really really bad diving shop. So many leaks in our gear our dives were getting cut short, forgot wet suits ect....list goes on. Finnished with a standup argument with them today, got very heated. (got my advanced though) Nice to hear your living it up....whats thè plan from here? Say a big hi to Chris for me and Tan...Take care We leave for Cuba tomorrow....keep u posted....cas
25th May 2007

Wow
Rochi, Your travels and relaxation is well deserved. Sorry to hear of the mozzies but you're obviously too yummy to pass up... Go well gal... I live vicariously on the thought that maybe sometime you'll be served pina coladas on the beach by men in tight yellow shorts (oops sorry I digress :-)
25th May 2007

sounds tough....
Hey Roch Sounds like you're doing great!! Love the pretty fishes... i think you're very brave diving, esp in deep water. It would be my worst nightmare! Dam that fear of drowning! So where are you working? Did I miss something cause you say before I start work? How was Italy or have you not been yet? You're not missing much here.... same stuff, different day and different team! I miss you though and our little chats :)) I'm glad you're having a good time but I do feel your pain with the Mozzies, they love me too. So, if it all gets too much we can swap for a bit!! Love Pen xxoo
28th May 2007

winter
I am reading your blog on the first really cold morning in Auckland (which we can't really complain about as it is nearly June) but 30+ degrees does sound great. Glad your having fun. What work?
29th May 2007

Sounds awful
Yawn, boring old diving, yuk, nasty old maldives, sounds terrible. I'd bet you'd much rather be looking out at the beautiful rain and freezing wind in sunny Wootton Bassett than having to go diving, sun yourself and eat all that food someone else has made for you. You don't even get to do the washing up. Aaaargh!! I'm so green, sounds and I'm sure is, fantastic, you jammy girl. Love the blog. Glad you sent me the link. I'll send it on to Debs and make her sick too! What's the new job? Love ya xxxx

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb