Stunning Maldives


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
December 7th 2017
Published: January 5th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I'm just a month late on blogging...What an amazing achievement! Sorry, before going further, on more time to my readers...as we are now firmly in 2018...Happy New Year!



There are good deals...and there are better deals....and there are actually deals I work on....this is it...this is the deal! First visit to Maldives for me was back in 1998. I stay on my own at Club Med. That island doesn't exist anymore...it has been "engulfed" by the reclaim land to expand the airport island into a new city. I arrived on a one-way ticket...as from Vietnam at the time...two one ways were cheaper than a return...go figure out!



I used to work for Club Med while at University...yes I did both at same time...study...party...work...graduate...all this with the honors...they call it multi-tasking...nothing new. At the time, the boss of the excursions was a friend of a friend....nothing new...so in a week time, free of charge, I visited Male, went on a full day helicopter and speed boat excursion....and did also a full day tour of the Maldives on a sea-plane....was not work...was not holidays....was just...well...life!



Today, I've stop counting...maybe my fifth of sixth visit....I actually also did my Open Water Padi qualification here....while drinking way too much bubbles over water...some 14 years ago!



So you ask me...what about the Maldives?!? The diving is to my opinion pretty average and way too expensive....but yes, the place is gorgeous....and today, it is so easy to reach from Asia.



We were in Bangkok, so let's hop-off to Male...simple! So now is the time to do a proper disclaimer. They sell the room in which we were sleeping for a small fortune...we didn't spent much for it...so please accept the punt, it was a good deal!



We are staying at the Sheraton Maldives. It is the closest full on resort from Male...so the bad thing about this place, is that half of the island has actually a view on a new reclaimed island...not that fancy. Good news, our little over-water bungalows has a perfect pitch view! We are here for three nights. What a welcome....never had a full minibar of bubbles of that size on arrival....all complimentary!



I managed to do 3 dives over two days. Saw few mantas, lots of turtles, few mobulah rays as well as stingrays....and a little shark or tow. The fun part is when the manager of the dive center asked to see my pictures from diving at home...and did copy few of them. At the end of the day, its moments like this that makes me happy to have move to South Africa!



Great asset of the Sheraton, they have a lounge! This means free breakfast...free snacks and soft drinks during the day...and a full bar plus mini decent buffet at sunset. Food and Beverages prices are a killer in Maldives...captive tourists on their resort islands do not have other options than being overcharged. Well, here for us, none of it....and with bubbles in the bath....we were more than happy!



The resort was full on one night, but it never looks like it was full. Not sure we are coming back here soon, so much more to discover ahead of us with Tanya!



Next entry, we are heading back East....for more bubbles!


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb