Dhigurah Day 3


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Ari Atoll
July 1st 2022
Published: July 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Friday July 1 – Did not sleep so well last night, not sure why. Maybe the comforter again? Got to breakfast quite early and was the first. Same omelet as yesterday with some chicken sausage and beef bacon and a local breakfast of pancake with a mixture of fish and chili and other delights, all chopped quite finely. Tasty.

After breakfast I changed and went for a snorkel on the reef just beyond the hotel. The water was quite choppy and the sand was all mixed up with the water. It made visibility low and the coral was mostly dead, and rather close and hard to see coming in the fog of sand. Not soon after I started I decided to end the snorkeling for the day. I put my stuff down on a beach chair – not far from yesterday but a better chair– and went back to the hotel to get my beach gear (book, water, etc). When I returned my kitten came back and hung out with me for the rest of the time I was there. I read my book, swam, and by 2pm or so it started to rain. I gathered everything up, said goodbye to my cat, and went back to my room (leaving the poor cat in the rain). So then, time to shower and work on my blog without feeling like I am missing out. I am nervous though that this is the start of a lot of rain for the week, or so the forecast and hotel staff have said. I knew rain was possible, but I thought it would be more like Florida or Tahiti, quick downpour and then done. Today the rain lasted hours and I need to accept that it may well be this way for the rest of my vacation. Not ideal, but certainly possible. I was told earlier today that the whale shark snorkeling excursion will likely go tomorrow, but after dinner was told that it would likely be a bumpy uncomfortable ride if it was possible at all. So, no whale shark sighting for me.

It eventually stopped raining and then it was just very windy, but by dinner, it was back to full storm. It’s quite dramatic at least. I hope the cat is ok. For dinner, I had a fish curry with a nice spice to it. I (thought I had) finished my book earlier, then realized that it ended without saying who the killer was! I went back and realized I had put my bookmark in the wrong place when the storm started and had missed the whole exciting chapter that goes through the details. So I was able to finish at dinner. I have only brought one more book and the Kindle is acting up. This does not bode well for the rainy season. Chatted with Jeroen and shared my screen so we could do our normal dinner Wordle, Dordle, Quordle, Worldle, etc. It’s good teamwork.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



1st July 2022

Sleep...
I always get a prescription for Ambien, one pill for each day, when I travel between multiple time zones. It helps mitigate jet lag. I guess sleeping in the shade of a palm tree on a white sand beach next to an azure sea would work even better!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb