Langkawi Take 5


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
November 11th 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

CarlsbergCarlsbergCarlsberg

I'm copywriting this one... this is a one off!!
Geo: 6.30052, 99.7207



I returned to Langkawi via speedboat from Koh Lipe in Thailand which was a great journey, we docked and crossed through Immigration which was a very low key affair as there were only four of us. I've had post it's over the back four pages of my passport now for months and months, trying to get Immigration stamps on other pages but actually my passport isn't going to last much longer!!

After Immigration we're put in a minivan and taken to Cenang Patai which was extremely convenient, dropping us just on the main road at the Rainbow Lodge where I've stayed now a few times. I'm glad they have room and can accomodate us and I'm pleased to hear that my friend Robert and his other half Azar should be here in a few days. This is a great guesthouse with a real sociable atmosphere and I know many people who are around staff and guest alike which is nice.

I take Steve on his first browse of Langkawi and I'm pleased that he loves the place too, it really is such a beautiful spot. I introduce him to many of the locals, Addy, Smilie, Kyle, Billie, Ace, Gie and Niki, Rafii and many, many more which is nice. There's a whole ex pat community here which I know and I'm best of buddies with Colin, Luan, Ken and Mary and others who hang out mainly at Rafii's and I introduce Steve to everyone, although they're all interested to hear about my adventures with the lovely Danny Boy who I left Langkawi to go and meet, I fill them in on some of our adventures and everyone is glad he is well and know he'll probably return after India.

So I take Steve on 'Smilie's bike to Kuah one of the days where we both purchase new devices, mine being a new phone and Steve a new tablet thing which was great. I also toured the island with him on a rented bike taking him to all my favorite haunts although unfortunately the cable car was closed we did get out to the waterfall and Tanjung Rhu which I love. I also had pilot Ken's car one of the days where we literally cruised rally like round the island with me driving and even visited the main tower on the mountain at Ula Melaka which was fabulous... you can see the whole island from here which was great and I loved my day out driving.

It was great when Robert and Azar arrived and we hung out together between Rafii's, Little Lylia's, the Brasserie and Rainbow Lodge, they're great company and I didn't realise how much I had missed my buddy Robert, when Danny was here the three of us were constant companions which was lovely. We have a few nights dancing away as well as heading out for lovely seafood at a local place which Robert and I had been to before which was nice, and I really enjoyed finally meeting Azar who is such an incredibly beautiful woman, Robert is one very lucky man!

I was asked to look after Gie's place, three kittens, four puppies as well as two cats which meant I basically had a house for a week which was fantastic. Gie is actually an architect as well as owning one of my favorite bars in Cenang, his home is stunning and several of the guest houses he has built next to the house are all traditional in their style built with many reclaimed products which makes everything completely unique. It's great having a proper luxury appartment with a kitchen, patio and places to chill out so I'm not in any hurry to move on. The animals were no bother and one of the pups just dotes on me as I started her swimming from only a few weeks old and now is the ruler of the pack! Although they can all get out of the garden and escaped more than once, they were never that far away.

I met lots of fab new friends here, Nevada (aka Mike... long story) and his wife (Nevada and China), Drew and Sally (Tasmania) who are out sailing and on their way to Phuket... truely inspirational guys, Free Willie (or Wale but new nickname), George Leslie (Cameroon), Ace (Malay) and many more. I really hope I manage to meet up with some of my new friends on my journey's you just never know.

I have great friends here and enjoy popping into Rafii's during the day, they're a great bunch and always glad to see you. This is where Danny, Robert and I spent most of our days and it's nice to be back although I have to admit it's not the same without Danny! I spend a lot of time with Colin who was a fireman in Glasgow for a number of years who's settled here more or less although will still travel and see his family etc. he's a big lad at 6'6 he towers above me to the extent I bought myself high heel flippers... have you ever heard of the like ha ha, they're great.

I enjoy many more days around Langkawi, and have borrowed a couple of bikes for Steve and I which means we get to do a bit more exploring than hiring (or borrowing) motorbikes all the time which is nice. The crowd at Rainbow are all great buddies and I'm sure we'll keep in touch... I suspect Langkawi is one place I will return to.

So after many more adventures it's time to head back to Penang and collect my bike to cycle down to Kuala Lumpur as Steve and I have decided on our next wee trip being Penang, onto KL and fly out to Brunei of all places... whoop whoop... I can't believe I'm going to Brunei!


Ok so ass in gear
and back to bike in Penang... Ooooo it's gonna be a sore one!


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



2nd January 2014

Oh yeah - some good times there lass!!! Happy New Year and Happy Travels!!
2nd January 2014

Cheers Nevada xxx was lovely meeting you several times randomly as it turned out... Happy New year x

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb